Prevoking Reactions?

Anpu42

Mongoose
He is one that came up Thrusday Night.
-My USMC M249 SAW Gunner set up his Fire Zone within 6" of a British SAS Patrol.
-Does the SAW Gunner Cause a Reaction from the SAS Patrol?

By the Rules I think It would, but...
 
First off there is never a cause or provoking of a reaction.

Models that are fired on, and models that have a action finished within 10" of them (any action), MAY choose to react, but only once per turn.

Note the key word may?
 
As has been mentioned, you may eact when an enemy unit completes a shoot action at you (no mention in the rules of you actually requiring to thit them, or an enemy unit completes any action within 10" of any model in your unit.

But you may react you do not have to, caefully judgin when to react is important tactically.

LBH
 
Page 22 of the Rule Book:
“Whenever an Enemy Model Completes an Action within 10” of any Model in one of your Units, that unit may immediately make a free Shoot or Move Action. This is called a Reaction. You may move in any Direction, but any Shooting must be aimed at the Unit that Triggered the Reaction.”
-I know what the Rule says, but it was Questioned when the situation came up and I thought that it should be discussed.
To Restate the Question in a different way.

-"Can the Act of Reading a Weapon to Create a Fire Zone [Automatic Weapon or Sniper Rifle] within 10” of an Enemy Model Trigger an Reaction?"
 
And thrice yes, readying a gun takes a ready action, any action within 10" allows the opponent to react if they wish.

LBH

EDIT and you don't need to go to P.22 of the Rulebook, it says the same on the basic rulesheet.

LBH
 
All True, I posted this becouse it came up in a game and it was questioned.
The other thing I found in that game is how to Use your Enemies Reactions for your advantage.
1] Get a Unit or Two close to a Squad you want to hurt.
2] Move the Smaller unit close enugh to Trigger an Reaction
3] This will force him to React to the Unit. [Usaly by firing, but if he move out of the building that work too]
4] If the Unit you moved is Not supresed then Fire on the Target. [If you can kill a few that is good]
5] Have the Second Unit Move in for the Kill. [One Move then Fire]
 
NO one forces a reaction, I say again NO one forces a reaction.

That will only work if the player falls for the bait. I just got through with a game over last weekend when I tried my best to get Dave to take such a bait, but he was wise to it.
 
I Know What the Rules State. I was Talking Tacticaly Speaking it Forces You Opponent to React to the Move or The First Unit gats a Free Shot.
 
Anpu42 said:
I Know What the Rules State. I was Talking Tacticaly Speaking it Forces You Opponent to React to the Move or The First Unit gats a Free Shot.

Then state clearly what you mean to say. My god man, we are not mindreaders! :?
 
Anpu42 said:
I Know What the Rules State. I was Talking Tacticaly Speaking it Forces You Opponent to React to the Move or The First Unit gats a Free Shot.

Indeed trying to entice your opponent to react sooner, so that he/she can't react later to the real hammer fall is all well and good, but if they're smart enough not to take the bait then tough.

LBH
 
Back
Top