Plasma Bolt clarification

Couple of nitpicking questions about the Plasma Bolt.

If rolls are cut in half rounding down the DMV table looks like this?

1 = 0 hits
2= 1 hit
3 = 1 hit
4 = 2 hits
5 = 2 hits
6 = 3 hits

Is this correct.

Also the rules on energy bleed seem to be confusing as this weapon is 'limited' to 10" but the actual range does not change. Has anyone made a ruling on this?
 
Hit is still a hit so a 1 to 3 is one hit. Just like the Klingon shield rule.

The Plasma bolt is a Range 10 weapon not 16 like a Plasma Torpedo so you calculate Energy Bleef from 10". The Brackets are 0 to 5, 5+ to 7.5 and then 7.5+ to 10.

And don't forget it really is a shotgun effect in ACTASF so you roll for each Attack Die that could hit at range.
 
I asked about Plasma Bolts here:

http://forum.mongoosepublishing.com/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=55671

my understanding based on the responses is

roll 1AD for each AD of the Plasma Torpedo - based on a 10 maximum range AND Energy Bleed trait

so for a Plasma R at 8" range you have 4 dice (7 AD - 3 for Energy Bleed (over 3/4 range)) which each need a 5+ to hit (assuming no modifiers other than range)

assuming you roll 2,3,5,6 you have two hits.

The 5 rolls 1D6 and divides by 2 to produce damage to the targets shields
The 6 rolls 1D6 and divides by 2 to produce damage that by-passed the shields

Roll to allocate each point of damage as normal (1's = no effect, 6's= criticals) and remember any criticals are still Devastating +1

hope this helps
 
Loki1965 said:
I asked about Plasma Bolts here:

http://forum.mongoosepublishing.com/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=55671

my understanding based on the responses is

roll 1AD for each AD of the Plasma Torpedo - based on a 10 maximum range AND Energy Bleed trait

so for a Plasma R at 8" range you have 4 dice (7 AD - 3 for Energy Bleed (over 3/4 range)) which each need a 5+ to hit (assuming no modifiers other than range)

assuming you roll 2,3,5,6 you have two hits.

The 5 rolls 1D6 and divides by 2 to produce damage to the targets shields
The 6 rolls 1D6 and divides by 2 to produce damage that by-passed the shields

Roll to allocate each point of damage as normal (1's = no effect, 6's= criticals) and remember any criticals are still Devastating +1

hope this helps

That is my understanding as well. Normally Plasma Torpedoes cannot get shield burnthroughs, but with a Plasma Bolt they CAN. :D
 
Back
Top