newbie question

We have just started to play and this came up in a game last time.
Narn Vs EA , EA had a scout ship out front with Stelth , do you still need to detect him to fire an energy mine ? I say no he says yes.
 
welcome to the forums and the game snake,well the answer is no, you can target an area in space with the mine you see,
 
Welcome,

just one tiny thing to add, if you target the scout with the e-mines then you have to roll for stealth BUT if you target a point in space and not the ship then no stealth roll.

You just have to not make the mistake to say "I'm targeting your ship".
And unless you play against a lawyer everybody will warn you about this and allow you to by-pass the stealth roll by targeting a point in space.

Enjoy :D
 
Na-Po said:
just one tiny thing to add, if you target the scout with the e-mines then you have to roll for stealth BUT if you target a point in space and not the ship then no stealth roll.

You just have to not make the mistake to say "I'm targeting your ship".
Rules say any enemy within 3" of the e-mine centre will automatically be hit. So even if you do target a ship you don't need to make a stealth roll.
 
But stealth mechanisme says opponent has to roll if he targets your ship ;-)

So if you target the ship you roll for stealth and if you miss no e-mine so no automatic hit (and slow loading mines not fired).
But if you fire in empty space no stealth roll and you still have to overcome the Hull score to hit (but not to give +1 against stealth, correct ?)
 
Na-Po said:
But stealth mechanisme says opponent has to roll if he targets your ship ;-)

So if you target the ship you roll for stealth and if you miss no e-mine so no automatic hit (and slow loading mines not fired).
But if you fire in empty space no stealth roll and you still have to overcome the Hull score to hit (but not to give +1 against stealth, correct ?)
Technically the first part is true although in reality you can target the empty space that is where the ship is.

The second part is almost right apart from the part in brackets. It does give a +1 for other ships targetting that ship.
 
What I meant in brackets (parenthesis ?) is : a hit gives +1 against stealth.

The only issue is the definition of "hit"
do we take "hits" only when Hull is "beaten" or the only fact of rolling dice is enough whatever the result.
This leads to "successful hits" and "missed hits" ...
 
The definition of a successful hit for breaking stealth, is an attack against the target. So emines break stealth, as does an attack that missies, as does an attack that hits but does no damage.
 
Back
Top