Moving adrift Vs All stop special action

skavendan

Mongoose
Last battle the ISA Victory class ship was hidding in a dust cloud! Yeah I know cowards...

I blasted it and it got moving as adrift....

But it can still do special actions so he nominated to all stop....

Can he do this at the time I thought it was very suspecious?

Ave yet to pick up the rule book and investigate since i am at work at the moment.
 
IIRC correctly If he was adrift he moves at the end of the turn in which it happened and so on until repaired. All Stop has no effect on his compulsory movement. :)
 
I suppose he could. It wouldn't do any good, though, because he's already moved!

Remember that Adrift ships move during their own End Phase, not during the move phase. While they still get a Move Phase on the succeeding turn, the only things they can do during this time is A). Initiative Sink and B). Use Special Actions. This means that your game sequence would have been:

Turn 1:
INITIATIVE PHASE
-- You win initiative
MOVE PHASE
-- He moves
-- You move
FIRE PHASE
-- You fire, get critical to set his ship adrift
-- He fires
END PHASE
-- He drifts forwards
Turn 2:
INITIATIVE PHASE
-- He wins initiative
MOVE PHASE
-- You move
-- He chooses a special action, ship cannot move
FIRE PHASE
-- He fires
-- You fire
END PHASE
-- He attempts to repair his critical
.....
 
Brings up the question - can you declare a Special Action that does not work or you can't do to claim a Ship has activated? :?:

eg a Pinned Shadow Ship I presumed can't do anything so can't count as activated?

A adrift Vorlon ship can only Open a Jump point?
 
As it couldn't move under it's own power how could he declare it to be activated unless it can perform something else in the moment phase.

We encounted and quered the Shadow pinning point you just mentioned.

This kind of thing should really be covered in a FAQ
 
I think we've gotten a Rulemaster on this one already; it's a valid initiative sink.

I skipped and danced around asking if you can do an "All Stop" on this one by arguing whether or not you can do it is irrelevant; however, if you find something compelling for this one, by all means .... I just don't know why it would matter. Yet.
 
We play that you can declare an adrift ship as being activated during the movement phase, even if you choose not to (or can't) perform a special action. It can still be used as an initiative sink.

Even if it is ruled that you must attempt an SA, any ship can always attempt Scrable Scramble (excepto Shadows and Vorlons :P) even if it has no fighters it can have the ability to launch 2 (reminds me of a Life Of Brian sketch - even though Stan can't have babies (which is no-one's fault not even the Romans), we shall fight for Stan's right to have babies).

Pinned Shadows, however, cannot. Adrift shadows, sure, like other races - but pinned ones can't do anything, so no.
 
Back
Top