Movement Issues

I forget, and don't have the book to hand, if I move anything up to 8 metres (i.e, I'm not charging), and attack, is that 1 CA or 2? I think it's 2 CAs but I'm unsure.
 
Mock combat today, a Trollkin with 2 CAs, used one initially, then his turn came around again.

He moved up to an opponent, and then had to just stand there and do nothing. Felt wrong but the rules state (page 84) it costs 1 CA to move and 1 CA to attack.
 
Grimolde said:
Mock combat today, a Trollkin with 2 CAs, used one initially, then his turn came around again.

He moved up to an opponent, and then had to just stand there and do nothing. Felt wrong but the rules state (page 84) it costs 1 CA to move and 1 CA to attack.

Earlier in this thread, Mongoose Pete stated that you can move as part of other actions. (as long as you move before the action). It only costs 1 CA to move if you do nothing besides move.

So, in this situation the trollkin could choose the "attack" action, but move up to his remaining movement while doing it (i.e. moving to the guy he want's to whack).

- Dan
 
Dan True said:
Earlier in this thread, Mongoose Pete stated that you can move as part of other actions. (as long as you move before the action). It only costs 1 CA to move if you do nothing besides move.

So, in this situation the trollkin could choose the "attack" action, but move up to his remaining movement while doing it (i.e. moving to the guy he want's to whack).

- Dan
This is a good reason why 'Wayfarers' needs to be a clarification of MRQ2

Thanks Dan.
 
Grimolde said:
Dan True said:
Earlier in this thread, Mongoose Pete stated that you can move as part of other actions. (as long as you move before the action). It only costs 1 CA to move if you do nothing besides move.

So, in this situation the trollkin could choose the "attack" action, but move up to his remaining movement while doing it (i.e. moving to the guy he want's to whack).

- Dan
This is a good reason why 'Wayfarers' needs to be a clarification of MRQ2

Thanks Dan.

Yep, together with charging and combat styles this is one of the MAIN points that need clarification. Hope you're reading this thread Matt ;)

- Dan
 
This is an interesting one. I would offer up:
Re: p84, "..following are activities a char can attempt by spending 1 CA during their turn.."
a) I take the "during their turn" as "on their SR"
b) as written it doesn't say on p84 that charging consumes all other CAs during the round [note it is explicit that picking up and readying a dropped weapon takes 2 CAs. Observation: allowing charge to necessarily consume all CAs for a round sets up daft situations: Charles has 5 CAs and uses all of them to charge 9m and try to hit foe. Donald has 1 CA uses it to charge 39m and try to hit his foe. Also, if target stands firm, then charger needs a CA to be allowed to parry. Far too harsh to automatically disallow this.]

Re: p90, "Unless the charging creature..stops..the charge only allows a single CA during that round..speed of the charging creature carries it clear.."
c) This is explicit that being carried clear [neither choosing to stop nor being stopped] means the charger gets a single potential hit and nothing else that round, and the receiver can stand firm or evade on that CA. Says nothing about receiver losing all his other CAs.
d) So IF charger chooses to stop, then he may get remainder of CAs for the round, as may the receiver.

e) Picking up on p84 "..activities a char can attempt.." allows a presumption that he may fail. Now, as written, charging says make an athletics roll, since errata-ed to combat style. How about the following as a draft solution:
1) Charge has to be in a straight line
2) Charger may attempt a charge at up to 5x his remaining movement for the round [so if can move 8m (ignoring amour/enc for simplicity), 1st CA moved 2m to sidestep round a tree, then can charge 5x(8-2)=30m on 2nd CA
3) Charger has a choice of how fast he wants to charge, but if above x1, then has to make an (additional, non-opposed) athletics test using an extrapolation of the modifiers on p31, modifying the rate by a difficulty of easy [+40%], so athletics test x2 speed = test @ +20, x3 @0, x4 @ -20, x5 @ -40. If successful, the charger has reached the target and may now try to hit (or to be hit) depending on weapon length.
4) Using the above allows distance for charge past to be calculated (speed x remaining CAs, up to the x5 (remaining) limit. In passing, I'd stipulate the charger can stop when desired, and, if a CA remains, can urn round, but that's it.
5) It also allows a stopped charge to continue with any remaining CAs for attack/parry etc.

This could do with some polishing, like effects of fumbles/crits on the athletics test, but I think it's worth mulling over. {But it's late now and I'm tired}

Feedback please?

Thx
 
I saw a a while back someone post the following in a different thread. Is this indeed correct and how combat works? Specifically in regard to being able to move and then attack on 1 CA.

"Humanoid Base Movement is 8 meters per ROUND.
Sprinting is BM x 5 - Armour Penalty
Charging same as Sprinting

On your Strike Rank/Initiative you can do the following:

On each CA you can move and attack (melee or ranged) so long as you don't exceed your BM for the entire round. In other words you can spread your 8 meters over all of your CA's in any combination you like, 2, 2 & 4 for example if you have 3 CA's. Or you can move your total BM on 1 CA and attack, but you can then no longer move in that ROUND.

You can Sprint which usually takes your whole round, i.e. you do nothing but run.

You can Charge which is generally thought of as a Sprint with an attack coming on the last CA. So if you have 3 CA you would declare the charge on your 1st CA and begin moving, continue charging on your 2nd CA and on your last CA your charge would stop and you would make your attack.

You can move half your movement for the round and cast a spell.

Some will interpret this differently, but this my understanding of RAW. Your GM may also house-rule by restricting movement and or imposing modifiers appropriate to the action being undertaken."
 
daddystabz said:
I saw a a while back someone post the following in a different thread. Is this indeed correct and how combat works? Specifically in regard to being able to move and then attack on 1 CA.

"Humanoid Base Movement is 8 meters per ROUND.
Sprinting is BM x 5 - Armour Penalty
Charging same as Sprinting

On your Strike Rank/Initiative you can do the following:

On each CA you can move and attack (melee or ranged) so long as you don't exceed your BM for the entire round. In other words you can spread your 8 meters over all of your CA's in any combination you like, 2, 2 & 4 for example if you have 3 CA's. Or you can move your total BM on 1 CA and attack, but you can then no longer move in that ROUND.

You can Sprint which usually takes your whole round, i.e. you do nothing but run.

You can Charge which is generally thought of as a Sprint with an attack coming on the last CA. So if you have 3 CA you would declare the charge on your 1st CA and begin moving, continue charging on your 2nd CA and on your last CA your charge would stop and you would make your attack.

You can move half your movement for the round and cast a spell.

Some will interpret this differently, but this my understanding of RAW. Your GM may also house-rule by restricting movement and or imposing modifiers appropriate to the action being undertaken."

That is pretty much what the general consensus is, I Believe.

- Dan

* As IF we'll ever arrive at a consensus for this ;) *
 
Back
Top