More Dilgar questions

KennyBoy

Mongoose
Just a couple more queries to clarify:
1) The 2E Command Ochlavita, does it's +1 to crew quality ONLY apply to
Pentacons, or can it be applied to a smaller squadron?
2) If you had a full strength Pentacon of 5 ships, could you elect to only
use 4 of them in a 'skip' tactic, then split the 5th ship off in a separate
move, or would you have to nominate the single ship as breaking off
from the Pentacon first?
 
1). Specifically to the Pentacon of which it is a member. It must be a Pentacon -- you'll lose the CQ bonus as soon as the first ship gets shot out of the Pentacon.

2). If you are using the Pentacon power, you could skip (first ... not afterwards!), and then move the ships out of the squadron individually, thereby destroying the pentacon. The instant you move the first ship out of the Pentacon, you cannot use that "skip" power anymore, as you no longer have that Pentacon anymore. You don't use teh ships in the "skip" activation; that's what the skip is for -- you commit to absolutely nothing.
 
Except the Pentacon rule states that a Pentacon only ceases to be one when it is reduced to three ships or less. So dropping one ship out, or losing one, you still get the benefit of the Ochlavitam, surely?
 
So, you can have a Pentacon of only 4 ships - though I assume you would have to start a battle with 5 ships to declare the squadron as a Pentacon formation?
 
Greg Smith said:
Except the Pentacon rule states that a Pentacon only ceases to be one when it is reduced to three ships or less.
The version we got for review, a pentacon must be 5 ships:
A squadron of five ships is known as a Pentacon, a specialised formation used by well-trained Dilgar pilots
Might've changed before release, of course...
 
Right, So, as long as a Pentacon starts with 5 ships, you can voluntarily split one from the group and still retain Pentacon status with the remaining 4 ships?
 
Oh yeah so it does. Well I guess that's a contradiction. A pentacon is defined as being specifically 5 ships, then later it's alllowed to be less.
 
It has to start as 5, but if it is reduced to four it still functions. It is slightly contradictory, but makes sense (to me at least :) ).
 
Definitely confusing --- I was a tier-two reader and frequent Dilgar player, and I got it wrong, even after re-referencing the Fleet Book playkit! I guess I missed that one on my clarification list.

That's the downside of being a reviewer for 2E: having to say....

....sorry. My bad.
 
Back
Top