Manoevres in Conan 2e: Instructions for use

I'm an old d20 player but I'm quite new to the Conan rpg.
I recenty bought Conan 2e but the exact use of the manoevres is not explained there even if there is a list of manoevres mixed with other kinds of special attacks (Conan 2e, p. 204-212).
To use a manoevre one must only fulfill the requirements (am i wrong?).
What is not clear to me is whether one can use two manoevres on the same time.
For example Cat's parry & Risposte can be both used to parry and they both use an Immediate action.
I never properly understood "immediate actions" but as far as I know "imediate actions" are free actions, therefore one can have more than one free action per round.
Consequently one can sue both Cat's parry and Risposte on the same round while parrying gaining both the bonuses. Am I wrong?
 
Here's the official D&D rules for immediate actions:

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20050621a

It's right at the bottom of the article.

By it's wording, you can only perform one immediate action a round.
 
LucaCherstich said:
To use a manoevre one must only fulfill the requirements (am i wrong?).
Yes, this is true; manoeuvres are sort of like feats that you get for free if you fulfill the prerequisites.

LucaCherstich said:
What is not clear to me is whether one can use two manoevres on the same time.
In the older edition of Conan the combat manoeuvres were more of a "special thing" (they had their own section in the combat chapter), and they had a restriction that you could only ever use one manoeuvre per round. This restriction has now been removed in 2nd edition, which means that you can use them as often as any other "normal" action.

LucaCherstich said:
For example Cat's parry & Risposte can be both used to parry and they both use an Immediate action.
I never properly understood "immediate actions" but as far as I know "imediate actions" are free actions, therefore one can have more than one free action per round.
Consequently one can sue both Cat's parry and Risposte on the same round while parrying gaining both the bonuses. Am I wrong?
I would have thought the same as you but...

Prof.Dogg said:
By it's wording, you can only perform one immediate action a round.
Huh, is that the way it is? I've never played in any games with these Immediate actions, and from Conan 2nd I just assumed (like LucaCherstich did) that they were basically free actions that you can use as a reaction to someone else doing something. Only one Immediate action per round would certainly limit some of the combat manoeuvres more than I thought.
 
I'm pretty confused.
I'm not sure how much of the official d20 can be used to interpret the Conan rpg since the Conan rpg is basically a transformation of the normal d20.
Conan 2e p. 181 states explicitely that Immediate actions are free actions that one can taken even during the others'turns.
But there is no explicit limit on the number of imediate actions!
Conversely the "free actions" paragraph (Conan 2e, p.180) says that one can perform "one or more" free actions.-
What's the official Mongoose answer to this?
 
Luca, after having reread the sections you refer to I must agree with you; Conan 2nd edition pretty explicitly states that Immediate actions are just a form of Free actions, and that they are not limited to one per round.

Based on this, my guess would be that, yes, you probably can use both Cat's Parry and Riposte against the same attack. Just remember though that there is an additional restriction with these specific manoeuvres because they both grant you an attack of opportunity. Since AoO are limited to one per round, you won't be able to perform this "combo" if you don't have the Combat Reflexes feat.
 
From another thread:

Sutek said:
If it isn't defined in the 2ed book, you just go by OGL rules. That's what I thought - 1 Immediate per round. You can take it during either your turn or anyone elses turn, but you only get one.
Well, it actually is defined (at least to my eyes) on page 180-181 of Conan 2nd edition. From what it says there, it looks pretty clear that you can take more than one per round.
 
Conan immediate actions are different from D&D immediate actions. You can use any appropriate manuevres that you fulfil the requirements for.
 
Mongoose Gar said:
Conan immediate actions are different from D&D immediate actions. You can use any appropriate manuevres that you fulfil the requirements for.
Thanks for the clarification!
 
Thank you!
I'm very happy that my players can use all the manoeuvres they want (if these require ONLY immediate actions and they have enough Attacks of opportunity...)
 
Back
Top