Initiate Jump Point query

ubersnug

Mongoose
Hello again fellow call to arms players. I have a question about an issue that occurred yesterday during a game that wasn't covered fully in the rules. I'm hoping someone here may have encountered this before and tell us what they think.

The situation
One of my ships initiates a jump point during the movement phase.

During the same turn, the ship in question takes damage which kills all the crew, but the ship is still intact and not crippled.

The question

Does the jump point dissipate immediately at that point? Or will it stay open till the end of the following movement phase (since the ship initiating the jump point is no longer around to keep it open) and thus other ships could move into it?

I mean the ships jump engines and flight computer where still intact. So the crew dieing shouldn't stop the jump point from forming after it was initiated. Its just that the crew where no longer about to sustain it and keep it open.

Rules wise, it mentions that a ship with no crew has no impact on the game from that point onward.

So, bottom line: Does the jump point dissapate immedialtely because the ship has been de-crewed.? Or will it dissipate on the end of the following movement phase since the ship is not there to keep it open?

Or, and I just thought of this, can another ship take over the duties of keeping open the jump point?

cheers guys
 
The jump point will disipate immediately. It will also do so when a ship is skeleton crewed or gets a No Special Actions crit.
 
Greg Smith said:
It will also do so when a ship is skeleton crewed
Unless it has a flight computer ;)

ubersnug said:
Or, and I just thought of this, can another ship take over the duties of keeping open the jump point?
No, but another ship can open another jump point in exactly the same place..... no difference really!
 
Burger said:
No, but another ship can open another jump point in exactly the same place..... no difference really!

But would you still need to wait till the following turn before any other ship could use it?
 
ubersnug said:
Burger said:
No, but another ship can open another jump point in exactly the same place..... no difference really!

But would you still need to wait till the following turn before any other ship could use it?
Ah yes, since it is a new jump point. That is one difference then ;)
 
Burger said:
ubersnug said:
Burger said:
No, but another ship can open another jump point in exactly the same place..... no difference really!

But would you still need to wait till the following turn before any other ship could use it?
Ah yes, since it is a new jump point. That is one difference then ;)

That's fine then.

I hasten to add that we did play it that the Jump point dissipated, but just wanted to make sure.

Thanks again.
 
Back
Top