Hellseed Y-rack

dyssnowman said:
Good point there Jose. Why would the nighthawk have it if it can't use it? That makes me wonder if it was supposed to still be a free attack during a jump...

You don't need to jump to use it though.
 
dyssnowman said:
Huh? :? Must be another change then, because in the original army list from the rulebook you did have to jump.

I might be wrong though. I can't just recall anything that said you HAVE to jump(there was mention something along line it being common to fire them while jumping over warrior swarm but that didn't seem rule text).

If you have to jump I have managed to play it incorrectly all the time.
 
the rulebook states you can fire it while you jump, being an exception from the rule saying a ready can only fuel one action. there's nothing to say you can use it if you're readed and choose not to jump.
 
JoseDominguez said:
yes but the cougar and grizzly are both pretty good in close combat, the nighthawk can't use it on the jump and the ape should be packing flamers.
Can't see a situation where it's any use, unless you're surrounded by cliff mites and need a laugh :)

IN fact, the only situation I can see it being worthwhile is a grizzly that's reacting and armed with a sixgun and a firestorm, it may as well fire the y rack and six gun. (but why would you arm a grizzly with one of each?).

Or like I said, when you're surrounded on all sides. It's notably more useful against non-bug targets too.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
the rulebook states you can fire it while you jump, being an exception from the rule saying a ready can only fuel one action. there's nothing to say you can use it if you're readed and choose not to jump.

You can fire ANY weapons as part of jump so no need for that exception...

Nor was there any requirement for ready action for hellseed when I checked MI book. It only mentioned that it is COMMONLY used during the jump giving nasty suprise to enemy who thought you vulnerable midair...

So. You can use it as part of your shooting action or as part of your jump action(since you can shoot at any point during special movement). Your choise.
 
tneva82 said:
Lorcan Nagle said:
the rulebook states you can fire it while you jump, being an exception from the rule saying a ready can only fuel one action. there's nothing to say you can use it if you're readed and choose not to jump.

You can fire ANY weapons as part of jump so no need for that exception...

Actually, you can't fire ready weapons (or indirect fire). You can only use the ready to fuel the weapon or the jump. You can fire direct-fire weapons or non-ready ones all you want though.

Nor was there any requirement for ready action for hellseed when I checked MI book. It only mentioned that it is COMMONLY used during the jump giving nasty suprise to enemy who thought you vulnerable midair...

So. You can use it as part of your shooting action or as part of your jump action(since you can shoot at any point during special movement). Your choise.

I'll have the recheck the MI book, but IIRC it was a ready weapn in the rule book MI list. It specifically points out that you can fire it while jumping even though it has the ready trait.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
I'll have the recheck the MI book, but IIRC it was a ready weapn in the rule book MI list. It specifically points out that you can fire it while jumping even though it has the ready trait.

It said it is COMMONLY used to give nasty suprise. That's just fluff text.
 
tneva82 said:
Lorcan Nagle said:
I'll have the recheck the MI book, but IIRC it was a ready weapn in the rule book MI list. It specifically points out that you can fire it while jumping even though it has the ready trait.

It said it is COMMONLY used to give nasty suprise. That's just fluff text.

Actually, we're both partially right. the rules state (in both the MI book and the mai rules) that unlike other atrillery weapons, it dosen't need to be readied to fire.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
tneva82 said:
Lorcan Nagle said:
I'll have the recheck the MI book, but IIRC it was a ready weapn in the rule book MI list. It specifically points out that you can fire it while jumping even though it has the ready trait.

It said it is COMMONLY used to give nasty suprise. That's just fluff text.

Actually, we're both partially right. the rules state (in both the MI book and the mai rules) that unlike other atrillery weapons, it dosen't need to be readied to fire.

It doesn't scatter either, the reason is it is not fired it just drops out of the suit.
 
Back
Top