Flurry and Delay Actions

In reading over the flurry and delay actions, I was a little confused.

Flurry: As I read it, this lets you use your remaining actions to attack only. Is this wrong? Does flurry allow you to just use all your remaining actions for whatever (so say a sprint, attack, and then move back)?

Delay: If I read this correctly, delay only uses an action point if you chose to interupt. Otherwise, it's just changing your initiative (strike rank, sorry) to a lower one for free.
 
Zipp Dementia said:
Flurry: As I read it, this lets you use your remaining actions to attack only. Is this wrong? Does flurry allow you to just use all your remaining actions for whatever (so say a sprint, attack, and then move back)?

Its attack only. "flurry of blows" basically.
 
Zipp Dementia said:
Delay: If I read this correctly, delay only uses an action point if you chose to interupt. Otherwise, it's just changing your initiative (strike rank, sorry) to a lower one for free.
No. Making the "Delay" uses up the CA. Period. The fact that the character _acts_ later in the round is merely the point where the CA takes effect (or not). This is where the rules appear to be a bit awkward compared with the SRD - the bit about "rerolling" at the start of a Combat Round, for example.

In fact, being contentious the way the rules are written may suggest that you have to use _another_ CA to act on the delayed SR. :twisted:
 
Halfbat said:
In fact, being contentious the way the rules are written may suggest that you have to use _another_ CA to act on the delayed SR. :twisted:

Yeah, that's what I was wondering. It appears to me that if you don't use an action on your delayed SR, you've essentially passed and retain all of your actions.

So for instance, Anuk has 3 combat actions and a trollkin has 3. The trollkin has a 12 strike rank, and Anuk has 20. She decides to delay, putting her strike rank at 11.

The trollkin then goes, moving close enough to her so she can effectively charge. Now it's Anuk's turn, since she delayed, and she chooses to charge. It seems to me that she would still have 2 actions left for the round, not just 1.
 
Another action question to add to this... fighting while retreating...

This move doesn't really have an explanation by it. I'm assuming that what it does is allow you to move at half your speed without incurring a reaction attack. But I'm assuming it DOES NOT add any percent to dodge or parry skills.
 
Zipp Dementia said:
Another action question to add to this... fighting while retreating...

This move doesn't really have an explanation by it. I'm assuming that what it does is allow you to move at half your speed without incurring a reaction attack. But I'm assuming it DOES NOT add any percent to dodge or parry skills.

Correct, its just to get you out of melee without allowing free attacks against you.
 
Back
Top