phantomwhale
Mongoose
I had my first go at running a Legend combat last week, and was overall impressed at the brutal bloody-ness of it all.
However, I had a few questions which I've been unable to find answered in the forums.
Firstly, Wounds. If you suffer a serious wounds (0 hp or less), you lose the next 1D3 combat actions. During this time, if someone wounds that area again, reducing it further (but not to a major wound), do you suffer a further loss of 1D3 combat actions. For instance, if you roll a "2", miss your first combat action, and then get hit again, must your roll ? And if that roll came up a "1", must you now miss one or two more actions ?
My reason for this question was it seemed that a creature become seriously wounded was an almost death sentence, even in 1-on-1, as missing 1 action meant the next strike if it hit (and often it will with ~70% starting weapon skills) allows the attacker to choose location with there CM, which naturally would be the seriously wounded location ! Sure, my creatures (good ol' Broo) were unarmored, but if even 1 more HP damage can cause another lost 1D3 actions, that still becomes very harsh.
The example on page 149 is unclear, with 1D3 lost actions mention on first injury, and the resilience roll only mentioned on the second injury. Although that appear to be all within one "impale", so maybe it's a special case.
Secondly, Initiative. The book states you only roll this once for a combat (possibly again if new combatants join in, etc...) I was playing it as you perform a new roll each round. Does anyone have a take on this ? Ok, this is less a question, more a house rule. I guess I found winning initiative quite an advantage, and wouldn't want one roll to dominate the combat. Or descend into "Having lost initiative, I flee, and then once the chase is over, re-engage the foe and hope I win initiative this time" meta-gaming.
Thirdly, Aiming. Is there a cap on how many turns / how much bonus you can get for aiming ? I was running an archery contest, and one of my players noted he could aim for 10 rounds and double his skill (!) We just said "no aiming" for the contest (it applied evenly to all, after all) but feels like something that maybe should be capped in combat. Or must all aims happen within the combat round ? That would put a cap in place, but I guess be bad for someone on his last action who wants to aim for the next action (on the next round) ?
Fourthly, missile weapons in melee. My archer loaded his bow (1CA) and then a Broo moved to engage him (1CA). What can the archer do on his next round ? Fire his bow in melee ? Fire at someone else outside of the melee ? Or must he drop his bow for free (lordy knows where the loaded arrow ends up) and get a "proper" melee weapon out ?
Lastly, Impales. Can you spend the extra CA to withdraw immediately after striking, or must you wait for your next action ? The example on page 149 shows the goblin spends 2 CAs in a row, implaing and pulling the weapon out, but it seemed strange where there are few other places were you can spend 2 CAs during "your go" ?
Thanks for any and all help with this - I really want to screw down some of this combat stuff. As a semi-seasoned RQ player of the older editions, I am used to the fact that I am going to house rule quite a few bits to get it "just how I like it", but I feel there is quite a fine and deadly balance going on in the system that I want to respect before I mutate it.
Regards,
Ben (-PW-)
However, I had a few questions which I've been unable to find answered in the forums.
Firstly, Wounds. If you suffer a serious wounds (0 hp or less), you lose the next 1D3 combat actions. During this time, if someone wounds that area again, reducing it further (but not to a major wound), do you suffer a further loss of 1D3 combat actions. For instance, if you roll a "2", miss your first combat action, and then get hit again, must your roll ? And if that roll came up a "1", must you now miss one or two more actions ?
My reason for this question was it seemed that a creature become seriously wounded was an almost death sentence, even in 1-on-1, as missing 1 action meant the next strike if it hit (and often it will with ~70% starting weapon skills) allows the attacker to choose location with there CM, which naturally would be the seriously wounded location ! Sure, my creatures (good ol' Broo) were unarmored, but if even 1 more HP damage can cause another lost 1D3 actions, that still becomes very harsh.
The example on page 149 is unclear, with 1D3 lost actions mention on first injury, and the resilience roll only mentioned on the second injury. Although that appear to be all within one "impale", so maybe it's a special case.
Secondly, Initiative. The book states you only roll this once for a combat (possibly again if new combatants join in, etc...) I was playing it as you perform a new roll each round. Does anyone have a take on this ? Ok, this is less a question, more a house rule. I guess I found winning initiative quite an advantage, and wouldn't want one roll to dominate the combat. Or descend into "Having lost initiative, I flee, and then once the chase is over, re-engage the foe and hope I win initiative this time" meta-gaming.
Thirdly, Aiming. Is there a cap on how many turns / how much bonus you can get for aiming ? I was running an archery contest, and one of my players noted he could aim for 10 rounds and double his skill (!) We just said "no aiming" for the contest (it applied evenly to all, after all) but feels like something that maybe should be capped in combat. Or must all aims happen within the combat round ? That would put a cap in place, but I guess be bad for someone on his last action who wants to aim for the next action (on the next round) ?
Fourthly, missile weapons in melee. My archer loaded his bow (1CA) and then a Broo moved to engage him (1CA). What can the archer do on his next round ? Fire his bow in melee ? Fire at someone else outside of the melee ? Or must he drop his bow for free (lordy knows where the loaded arrow ends up) and get a "proper" melee weapon out ?
Lastly, Impales. Can you spend the extra CA to withdraw immediately after striking, or must you wait for your next action ? The example on page 149 shows the goblin spends 2 CAs in a row, implaing and pulling the weapon out, but it seemed strange where there are few other places were you can spend 2 CAs during "your go" ?
Thanks for any and all help with this - I really want to screw down some of this combat stuff. As a semi-seasoned RQ player of the older editions, I am used to the fact that I am going to house rule quite a few bits to get it "just how I like it", but I feel there is quite a fine and deadly balance going on in the system that I want to respect before I mutate it.
Regards,
Ben (-PW-)