Fighter Deployment contradiction

The rule book on page 28 states:-

"Unless otherwise stated by the scenario, all ships carrying flights of fighters may deploy one flight before the game begins..."

However, in the fleet book at the start of each list under the Fighters heading, it states:-

"Some ships are noted as carrying one or more flights of fighters on board. One or more of these flights may be deployed as normal at any time before the game begins"(my emphesis)

The wording, whilst open to a degree of interpretation seems to directly contradict the rule book.

I am going to post this in the Rulesmasters forum for an official response, but I thought I would post it here too for debate.
 
I'd say that you have to stay within both rules, and the only way to do that with a normal ship on a normal mission is to only deploy a single fighter flight before the battle begins. In some cases however ships can deploy more fighters than that (usually due to the Fleet Carrier trait), so then the "or more" part of the one or more becomes significant.
 
The fleet book makes no mention of either scenarios or the carrier trait. The wording in the fleet book does not make the deployment of more than one fighter reliant on any other conditions being met.
 
You should also note 'as normal'.

'As normal' for a regular ship is one flight.
'As normal' for a fleet carrier is 'or more'.
 
Basically the point is that its the SHIP that restrics it to launching one flight, not the fighters so the rule, from the fighter side, is basically that as many of them as allowed by the carrying ship can be launched. For most ships this is going to be 1 due to the main rule, but in certain scenarios, or for fleet carriers this is more.
 
Also noticed that fighters deployed at the start of the game can eb anywhere in the deployment zone, no more 3" restriction as in 1E.

LBH
 
lastbesthope said:
Also noticed that fighters deployed at the start of the game can eb anywhere in the deployment zone, no more 3" restriction as in 1E.
There was a 3" restriction in 1e? Where is that stated?
 
Back
Top