Enchant

The procedures for creating magical items are covered in the troubled Arms and Equipment supplement. It will be getting an errata fix soon that will help clear things up. Enchanting, be it through divine or sorcerous means, is done by way of a spell (Enchantment Blessing for divine and Enchantment Ritual for sorcery).
 
almightygm said:
Loz said it would be out later this week in different forum thread about A&E.

Well the errata is out now but it doesn't help much.

What's giving me trouble is the paragraph on page 104 about sorcerors powering enchantments out of a power crystal. The wording is really really confusing, but as written it seems to make enchantments basically free for any sorcerer with an MP storage crystal. The errata basically just says the same thing again, barely changing the wording at all.

OK, I understand that if the enchanter is drawing MP from an outside source, it doesn't affect his own MP total, that much is obvious. And if he's using Tap he's offloading the cost onto the tapee, which is evil but logical. But if he's using a crystal, what happens to that crystal? Is the crystal's storage ability reduced by the appropriate amount? If so, does the crystal get that upper limit back if/when the enchantment is dissolved? If the crystal's storage is not reduced, well that's just a broken rule then, because it would as I noted above enable the sorcerer to crank out enchants without end.
 
As I read it, the crystal's storage capacity is reduced, i.e. that 8pt crystal is now a 4pt. (or whatever it's lowered by).

I can't see it regaining the MP though, as it's an inanimate object, so no "draw" back to regain the MP when the enchantment is broken.
 
Foxtrap said:
almightygm said:
Loz said it would be out later this week in different forum thread about A&E.

Well the errata is out now but it doesn't help much.

What's giving me trouble is the paragraph on page 104 about sorcerors powering enchantments out of a power crystal. The wording is really really confusing, but as written it seems to make enchantments basically free for any sorcerer with an MP storage crystal. The errata basically just says the same thing again, barely changing the wording at all.

OK, I understand that if the enchanter is drawing MP from an outside source, it doesn't affect his own MP total, that much is obvious. And if he's using Tap he's offloading the cost onto the tapee, which is evil but logical. But if he's using a crystal, what happens to that crystal? Is the crystal's storage ability reduced by the appropriate amount? If so, does the crystal get that upper limit back if/when the enchantment is dissolved? If the crystal's storage is not reduced, well that's just a broken rule then, because it would as I noted above enable the sorcerer to crank out enchants without end.

I believe the intent is meant to be that if say you have a Power Crystal with a capacity of 9MPs and you use it to power a 6MP enchantment that the crystal now only has a capacity of 3MPs remaining. If the enchantment is broken, the 6MPs are *still locked* in the crystal as they can't be regained. It's not that clear so I guess that's another one for Loz to rule on.
 
Back
Top