Elric/Legend range of Runes.

danskmacabre

Mongoose
This is specific to the Rune magic in the Elric RPG.
The example I have in mind is the "Leech" Rune, which drains magicpoints from active Runes.
If you vocalise it an direct it at say someone's active "Protection" rune (which gives Armor points), is there a range on it?

Looking at another rune in the Elric rules, it has a range of 1 metre per Magic point invested.
I suspect this is how it works. Opinions on this.

Do you think the same rules should apply with the "Leech" as an inscribed Rune. I don;t see any reason why not I guess.
 
danskmacabre said:
This is specific to the Rune magic in the Elric RPG.The example I have in mind is the "Leech" Rune, which drains magicpoints from active Runes.If you vocalise it an direct it at say someone's active "Protection" rune (which gives Armor points), is there a range on it?

According to p75 EoM CRB "its effects can be directed at another person or creature if the sorceror can make physical contact.' This is for verbal Rune Casting and 'If inscribed on a person or object, the run affects the bearer directly.'

I would say that unless the rune description states otherwise these rules stand. I could be wrong and would like to hear other people's opinions.
 
Thanks, yes I agree, ur quite right, that's pretty clear really.
It's on page 78 with the mrq2/EoM Core rules.

I do think tho that if you inscribe it on say a sword, it should be able to disrupt a protection spell on someone else if you can hit them.
 
danskmacabre said:
It's on page 78 with the mrq2/EoM Core rules.

Sorry, my mistake. I was not awake.

On p77(and I have double checked the number) the last paragraph starts 'There are an unknowable number of runes.' So, I take this to mean that there is a Ranged Leeching rune out there somewhere.

While we are on the subject, if a sorcerer inscribes a fire rune on a pair of gloves. He invests it with one magic point that allows him to manipulate a small amount of fire for one hour. He then invests another magic point which will either extend the duration of the rune by one hour or allow him to control one cubic metre of fire. Is this correct?
 
Big Orc said:
danskmacabre said:
It's on page 78 with the mrq2/EoM Core rules.
On p77(and I have double checked the number) the last paragraph starts 'There are an unknowable number of runes.' So, I take this to mean that there is a Ranged Leeching rune out there somewhere.
Yes that's true, there could be a ranged version out there I suppose, although in the core supplied rules, not so.

While we are on the subject, if a sorcerer inscribes a fire rune on a pair of gloves. He invests it with one magic point that allows him to manipulate a small amount of fire for one hour. He then invests another magic point which will either extend the duration of the rune by one hour or allow him to control one cubic metre of fire. Is this correct?

In principal that sounds ok, but it doesn't specify one cubic metre of fire, just the following:
(Part of the fire rune description).

The Fire rune allows the sorcerer to control, but not create,
fire. The rune can be used to extinguish fires, or control their
direction. For one Magic Point it can extinguish a Flame, two
Magic Points a Small Fire, three Magic Points a Large Fire and
four Magic Points or more will put out an Inferno

Unless you're referring to a different part of the rules somewhere.
 
danskmacabre said:
In principal that sounds ok, but it doesn't specify one cubic metre of fire, just the following:(Part of the fire rune description).Quote:The Fire rune allows the sorcerer to control, but not create, fire. The rune can be used to extinguish fires, or control their direction. For one Magic Point it can extinguish a Flame, two Magic Points a Small Fire, three Magic Points a Large Fire and four Magic Points or more will put out an Inferno Unless you're referring to a different part of the rules somewhere.

On p84 the description of rune Water states 'The sorcerer can control one cubic metre of water for every Magic Point invested.' The rules say the same for Earth and Air(although it appears there is an error here because it uses the phrase "earth or rock" instead of Air.) I would assume that the Fire Rune should yeald the same volumes.
 
To make a vocalised Rune ranged you have to stack it with the Rune of Touch which has a range of 1 metre per MP. So if the person you want to "leech" a Rune from is 3 metres from you, you have to stack the Rune of Leeching at whatever number of magic points with the Rune of Touch with a minimum of 3 MP. This 'limitation' on ranged casting of Runes makes it unattractive in combat situations.

EDIT
I think the range should be something like POW (after Pact dedications) in metres, or perhaps 10% of the Rune (Touch) skill.

Thoughts?
END EDIT



The resilience roll the target makes dos not stop you from touching the target, it just makes them aware they have been touched by sorcery.

An object inscribed with a Rune of Leeching has to come into contact with the Rune it's leeching. In your example, so long as you hit with an attack, i.e. it is not successfully parried or evaded, it would drain the Rune of Protection by its MP value and then damage would be calculated on the new AP.
 
Back
Top