E-mine and dogfight

Drahazar

Mongoose
me and my friend had a question

A nial flight and a thunderbolt where touching and in dogfight (to dogfight means your battleing around and shooting each other) now he e-mined just past them adn the mine went up and it touched my fighters now sence his fighters where in a dogfight with my fighters that explosion dose not dicreminate and would hit both correct. If it dose not it makes no sence to have only my ships hit and not his. the explosive radius touched my ships but not his and my ship and his was in dogfight mode.
 
I'd say if your opponent's fighter wasn't within the blast radius of the emine explsoion it wouldn't be harmed.(even if it was dogfighting your fighter).
Maybe others would disagree :)
 
There are no rules to say that dogfighting fighters are "dragged" into an explosion. If one flight is inside the blast radius and the other is not, then only one takes the attack.
 
that sucks if you dogfight the you both should be drawn in and not just the one in the blast radius. I can understand that ok his model is not in the blast radius and mine is but his is dogfighting mine which means he would take up the same space as mine sence he initated the dogfight with me. Thats bogus
 
We have always played that what is under the template is hit and what isn't isn't. This might sound nasty, but one game I had against the Minbari I charged 4 flights of frazi towards his sharlin with a cry of "say goodbye to you stealth" and amazingly he fell for it and pounced with 5 flights of nials (which until then had been spread out). I then e-mined the lot, and got rid of 90% of his fighters in one shot. All the frazis died, but we will remember them in song.

Just as an aside, I lost the battle (probably due to kharma), but it was one of those fun "see the look on his face" moments.
 
Personally I would say no, you can't do that.

When fighter stands are touching, i.e. dogfighting in my reasoning they are considered to be in a true furball. This means that the fighters are intermixed, swooping, rolling, dodging and firing.

I suppose it could be thought of as the two dogfighting units are equally mixed between the area that the two combined counters cover. Therefore, you would be eliminating your own fighters as well as the enemy fighters.

That's just me though... :roll:

-V
 
Personally, if only half the dogfighting pair were hit, I'd rule that either both or neither were hit, not one flight only. The letter of the rules vs the spirit of the rules, I think, with a sprinkling of common sense... :wink:
 
yeah I see as He initiated the dogfight which means basically he moved into my space and when your dogfighting your in the mix and zipping all around each other and if a e-mine gose off its not going to decide to only hit me and not the other we went with common sence and he lost some fighters too.
 
Of course the Narn fighters might attempt to disengage right before the mine hits. Maybe a dog fight role? If the Narn win only the other side gets hit, but if they lose they're shot down as the flee. You don't HAVE to attempt to run, but then both sets of fighters are hit.

On a similar note, what happens when screening ships dodge?
 
The way I see it, when dog fighting, all fighter bases that are touching then become one base. So, if one is hit by the template, then they all are as they are one base now.

It just seems logical that way. It's not like the fighters flight towards each other, then stop a little bit apart form each other and start shooting.
 
Back
Top