Dismissing/countering a Multi-Target Sorcery Spell

PhilHibbs

Mongoose
If a sorcerer casts a spell at 5 targets, do they all have to be dismissed or countermagicked individually, or can the entire multi-target spell be dispelled as a whole? If the former, then if the spell is countered whilst it is being cast, I assume it still counts as a single spell and that the only relevant factor is the Magnitude.

What if the spell caster is a long way away, and is casting a spell at you? Do you have to add enough Range to reach the caster, or can you wait until the spell gets to you and counter it with no Range required?
 
I'd like to know the answers too.

In addition. If I use Countermagic or Neutralize magic defensively - to counter a spell targeting me - how many CAs is this. If limited to 1 CA, then Countermagic is limited to magnitude 2 if cast defensively (presuming I had not started preparing the spell earlier) and Neutralize Magic cannot have any manipulations (which would not affect the magnitude that the spell could dismiss, but would affect its own magnitude or range etc.)

Antalon.
 
Thinking about it, I would rule as follows (subject to an official Loz or Pete view):

1) You can reactively cast Countermagic, Neutralize magic or Dismiss magic if you are targeted by a spell and are aware of the spell attack (you have seen the caster and recognise they are casting a spell).

2) You can spend no more than 1 CA as a defensive spell casting action, and are therefore subject to the weaknesses of the type of magic you use (e.g. Countermagic is limited to two magnitude, whilst divine spells can always be cast as 1 CA). Exception, you may prepare a spell on earlier combat actions specifically to cast defensively to ward off an incoming attack.

3) The range is 0 (or touch) for your defensive spell. The spell from the opponent must reach you, not the other way around.

4) You may only protect yourself - therefore a multi-target spell may still affect other targets unless they too defend themselves.

5) You still get to resist the spell normally if your defensive casting fails.
 
PhilHibbs said:
If a sorcerer casts a spell at 5 targets, do they all have to be dismissed or countermagicked individually, or can the entire multi-target spell be dispelled as a whole? If the former, then if the spell is countered whilst it is being cast, I assume it still counts as a single spell and that the only relevant factor is the Magnitude.

I think that the whole spell is countered/dismissed/neutralized and that it no longer affects any of its targets. Countermagic, Countermagic Shield, Dismiss Magic and Neutralize Magic all refer to affecting one or more spells. The target manipulation description says it is increasing the number of targets the spell affects. It does not say it makes copies of the spell to affect more than one target. A sorcerer casting a spell against multiple targets might want to increase the Magnitude of the spell so it isn't eliminated because one of the targets had a 1 point Countermagic Shield up at the time. 1 Magnitude attacking spell hits 1 Magnitude Countermagic Shield and both spells are eliminated.

PhilHibbs said:
What if the spell caster is a long way away, and is casting a spell at you? Do you have to add enough Range to reach the caster, or can you wait until the spell gets to you and counter it with no Range required?

I think you only need touch range to counter the spell. You are targetting the spell and not the caster.
 
So how would casting time figure in to countering a spell being cast? You'd have to get your counter-spell off before the other caster finishes, and you're always going to be one action behind since it's a reaction. If someone is casting a 1-point spell at you, I guess you're screwed since it's over by the time you get your next action - or does it work like a parry, you don't need to wait for your SR turn? If a sorceror casts a Magnitude 5 ranged spell at you, taking only two combat actions, is it impossible to use Countermagic since that takes three combat actions to cast Countermagic 5? Not that you'd know it was a Magnitude 5 spell, anyway. You might be lucky and win initiative the following round if the casting spills over, though, and your final combat acton casting Countermagic gets in before the other caster's.

Can you use the haste modifiers table and cast a spell in half the time at -40%?
 
PhilHibbs said:
So how would casting time figure in to countering a spell being cast? You'd have to get your counter-spell off before the other caster finishes, and you're always going to be one action behind since it's a reaction. If someone is casting a 1-point spell at you, I guess you're screwed since it's over by the time you get your next action - or does it work like a parry, you don't need to wait for your SR turn? If a sorceror casts a Magnitude 5 ranged spell at you, taking only two combat actions, is it impossible to use Countermagic since that takes three combat actions to cast Countermagic 5? Not that you'd know it was a Magnitude 5 spell, anyway. You might be lucky and win initiative the following round if the casting spills over, though, and your final combat acton casting Countermagic gets in before the other caster's.
I believe counterspelling is a reaction, like parrying or evading. It would take a CA, like any reaction. In that case, you would be limited to however much magnitude you could generate in a CA. (2 for Countermagic)

I think I would allow a character who saw a sorceror start casting a spell to start casting a countermagic spell on his next CA in anticipation of needing to cast a higher magnitude counterspell when the sorceror unleases his spell. It might not be a good idea, but....
Of course, this poses several issues of its own.
Can you hold on to the started spell until you need it, or do you have to cast it when it is finished?
If you start a spell and then voluntarily stop casting it, do you lose the MPs that would have gone into the spell up to when you aborted it? If MPs don't go into the spell until you actually finish casting it, then no problem.
If you have a countermagic spell started for this purpose, can you do anything else while you are holding it in readiness? (Assuming that the GM allows it to be held in readiness.)

Yes, you wouldn't know what the magnitude of the sorcery spell was and you couldn't counter the spell if it was magnitude 5 and you could only get off a countermagic with 4 or fewer magnitude.
Can you use the haste modifiers table and cast a spell in half the time at -40%?
I would allow it.
 
Back
Top