Confused by Critical Hits

chazaroo

Mongoose
Under Critical Hits on page 8 there is an example in which a Fed Hvy Cruiser takes a critical hit to its Impulse Drive. The example goes on to state the Cruiser "gains a Critical Score of 1 on the impulse drive, causing an extra point of damage and is reduced to a maximum speed of 10." The examples implies that the Cruiser takes 2 points of damage - 1 from the original hit and 1 for Critical Score 1 Extra Damage. Why does it take an extra point of damage? According to the Impulse Drive critical hit table on the next page, a Critical Score of 1 results in Extra Damage of "0". Is this a typo, or am I missing something?
 
It's a typo.
The example is a hold-over from an earlier draft of the rules that never got updated to match the damage values on the chart.
 
Back
Top