Clarification on Charateristic Roll Modifiers

iwakun

Mongoose
Some of the rolls that are made when creating a character have DMs based on your characteristics. For example, under the "University" section:

Entry: EDU 7+
DM-1 if in Term Two, DM-2 if in Term Three
DM+1 if SOC 9+

Is the SOC 9+ a SOC check that I make right there, or is it my raw SOC value?
 
iwakun said:
Some of the rolls that are made when creating a character have DMs based on your characteristics. For example, under the "University" section:

Entry: EDU 7+
DM-1 if in Term Two, DM-2 if in Term Three
DM+1 if SOC 9+

Is the SOC 9+ a SOC check that I make right there, or is it my raw SOC value?

That means - if your SOC score is 9 or higher, you get a +1 DM to your Entry roll (target 7).
 
Hmm. Strange that SOC 9+ (your raw characteristic value is greater than 9) is represented in the exact same convention as EDU 7+ (roll 2D and add your EDU modifier and success on greater than 7). I wonder if there's an easy fix to differentiate these.
 
iwakun said:
Hmm. Strange that SOC 9+ (your raw characteristic value is greater than 9) is represented in the exact same convention as EDU 7+ (roll 2D and add your EDU modifier and success on greater than 7). I wonder if there's an easy fix to differentiate these.
Barrowing from Grade School Math: SOC>9 and SOC 9+?
So the > means Greater Than is needed and the other is the roll needed? :wink:
 
iwakun said:
Some of the rolls that are made when creating a character have DMs based on your characteristics. For example, under the "University" section:

Entry: EDU 7+
DM-1 if in Term Two, DM-2 if in Term Three
DM+1 if SOC 9+

Is the SOC 9+ a SOC check that I make right there, or is it my raw SOC value?
Entry is the roll needed to get in. Add the DMs if they can be applied to the entry roll. SOC 9+ just means you get DM +1 if your SOC is 9 or greater (there is no additional roll here). Just like in real life.

Typically, CHR X+ will be a roll of some kind when a roll/check is being asked for. It will also be a condition, where your CHR needs to be at value X or more for you to be allowed something.
 
Curiously enough, I understood exactly what the rule meant - if my SOC was 9 or higher, the +1 DM applied, rather than the +1 DM applying if I rolled 9 or higher and added my SOC DM.
 
Curiously enough, I understood exactly what the rule meant - if my SOC was 9 or higher, the +1 DM applied, rather than the +1 DM applying if I rolled 9 or higher and added my SOC DM.
 
Back
Top