Charms

gran_orco

Mongoose
Do I need 1 POW to do a charm (enchant), and another one to be integrated?

And another question: if I want to do a spell that knows a fetish, is the chance 100% or the caster´s summonig skill?
 
No, it's just 1 POW in total to create a Charm

If you have a Magic Spirit bound into a Fetish, it casts its own spells with a 100% chance of success (although I guess it will still fail on 96-00).
 
thank you for the answer!
another question: if I want to do a spirit spell, should I have the apropiate charm?
My problem is because I don´t know how to learn the "create (rune) charm" spell if I do not have the apropiate charm to do it first (supposing that it needs it).
I´m sure I´m missing things :oops:
 
Charms don't give you access to spells. Creating a charm simply gives you the equivalent of a Rune that you can then integrate for its power. Therefore theoretically you don't need any Charms in order to learn spells (including the Create Charm spell).

However, I see what you're saying - you must have integrated at least one Rune/Charm in order to learn Create Charm in the first place. My guess is a Shaman or other Practitioner would cast Create Charm for you the first time you attempted to create a Charm, which would probably take place during your initiation rites into the Practice.
 
Ufff :oops: . OK, we have:

1) I need a charm to learn a spirit spell (page 72, Runes: This entry shows the runes or charms a character must have integrated to learn the spell...)
2) I need a charm to cast a spirit spell (page 10, Casting Spirit Magic: Spirits and their spells require a charm or fetish to work)
3) So I suppose that what you are saying to me is that I need to have the shaman profession (core rulebook) to have first one rune integrated to be able to learn "create (rune) charm".

Is it like that, or I´m wrong again?
Be patient with me, please.
 
gran_orco said:
Ufff :oops: . OK, we have:

1) I need a charm to learn a spirit spell (page 72, Runes: This entry shows the runes or charms a character must have integrated to learn the spell...)

Yes, you're right - sorry, my previous answer was incorrect. So yes, you need to have a charm of the appropriate rune(s) before you can learn a spirit magic spell.

gran_orco said:
2) I need a charm to cast a spirit spell (page 10, Casting Spirit Magic: Spirits and their spells require a charm or fetish to work)

Yes, you need one or more charms (or fetishes) related to the spell in hand in order to cast the spell.

gran_orco said:
3) So I suppose that what you are saying to me is that I need to have the shaman profession (core rulebook) to have first one rune integrated to be able to learn "create (rune) charm".

Not necessarily.

First, the rules state that in order to create a charm, you must "know the Create (Rune) Charm spell, or have it accessible". This implies that someone else can cast the spell to create the Charm for you, after you've successfully summoned the required spirit and enchanted the binding object.

Second, while the rules state that fetishes are not transferrable, they do not say this for charms, therefore implying that someone can create a charm, give it to you, and you can integrate it (as long as you are a spiritist or practitioner of a religion compatible with the creator of the charm).
 
gamesmeister said:
Second, while the rules state that fetishes are not transferrable, they do not say this for charms, therefore implying that someone can create a charm, give it to you, and you can integrate it (as long as you are a spiritist or practitioner of a religion compatible with the creator of the charm).

Who would like to spend 1 POW to do the "create charm" enchantment for you? 8) :D
 
gran_orco said:
gamesmeister said:
Second, while the rules state that fetishes are not transferrable, they do not say this for charms, therefore implying that someone can create a charm, give it to you, and you can integrate it (as long as you are a spiritist or practitioner of a religion compatible with the creator of the charm).

Who would like to spend 1 POW to do the "create charm" enchantment for you? 8) :D

Hehe, good point.

Holy crap, that is a good point - binding a spirit using the Enchantment rules requires 3 POW (one for each attribute). Do those rules apply to creating Charms too? Jeff?

I kind of assumed that the only POW spent when creating Charms was the 1 POW required to integrate it. Any more than 1 POW and who would ever create one?
 
I´m so confused!

why does it say in the "create charm" description that it is an enchantment of progressive magnitude?
I wish that you could understand me

First you told me that I need only 1 POW, but if I understand this, we need more than 1, but... why? and later, another one to integrate it. Isn´t it?
 
gran_orco said:
I´m so confused!

why does it say in the "create charm" description that it is an enchantment of progressive magnitude?
I wish that you could understand me

First you told me that I need only 1 POW, but if I understand this, we need more than 1, but... why? and later, another one to integrate it. Isn´t it?

It depends on how big a charm you get in the first place. I would suspect that by spending more money and time, one could 'upgrade' an existing charm. However, I do not have a copy of CoG2 at the moment and it is quite likely that the mechanism has been changed from the ms.

Jeff
 
gran_orco said:
I´m so confused!

why does it say in the "create charm" description that it is an enchantment of progressive magnitude?
I wish that you could understand me

No idea why it says that, I think it's a mistake. There is no benefit to be had from casting a higher magnitude spell.

gran_orco said:
First you told me that I need only 1 POW, but if I understand this, we need more than 1, but... why? and later, another one to integrate it. Isn´t it?

No (and I'm going to answer my own question here), the normal enchantment rules do not apply when creating a charm.

To create a Charm, you need to make a successful Summoning skill check, a successful Enchantment skill check, and cast the Create (Rune) spell.

To integrate the Charm, you need to spend 1 POW.

As far as I can tell, that's it.
 
Voriof said:
It depends on how big a charm you get in the first place. I would suspect that by spending more money and time, one could 'upgrade' an existing charm. However, I do not have a copy of CoG2 at the moment and it is quite likely that the mechanism has been changed from the ms.

Jeff

Obviously I don't know what the original MS said, but unless I'm completely misreading it, creating a Charm is equivalent to creating a Rune. You get the benefits of integrating it, and you can use it to cast spells associated with its runic type. There doesn't seem to be a way of upgrading it, unless the idea is to add additional runes to the same binding object.
 
I have a question, what if you have a charm, say beast, and then you find a beast rune and integrate it? For that matter what is the benefit of integrating multiples of a rune? I have seen vague refrences to that occasionally. I think Legendary Heros had an example where somone used the skill that lets you see what runes someone had integrated and in the example they said the target had like 2 fire runes and a strong chaos rune. Do runes come in different power levels?
FGO
 
Flaming Gummi Ork said:
I have a question, what if you have a charm, say beast, and then you find a beast rune and integrate it? For that matter what is the benefit of integrating multiples of a rune? I have seen vague refrences to that occasionally. I think Legendary Heros had an example where somone used the skill that lets you see what runes someone had integrated and in the example they said the target had like 2 fire runes and a strong chaos rune. Do runes come in different power levels?
FGO

There's nothing to say you can't integrate a Rune when you already have a Charm of the same type. whether you're using the expanded Runic Powers PDF, or making up your own, the benefit would be multiple powers related to the same rune.

They come in different power levels if the GM decides they do. :) For example, the namesake rune of the Rune of Chaos adventure has a very powerful ability that is nothing like the one mentioned in the core rulebook
 
Flaming Gummi Ork said:
I have a question, what if you have a charm, say beast, and then you find a beast rune and integrate it? For that matter what is the benefit of integrating multiples of a rune? I have seen vague refrences to that occasionally. I think Legendary Heros had an example where somone used the skill that lets you see what runes someone had integrated and in the example they said the target had like 2 fire runes and a strong chaos rune. Do runes come in different power levels?
FGO

The Runic Powers PDF has additional bonuses that can be gained for integrating a rune. There are 3-6 possible bonuses per rune, one of them always being the one listed in the core rules.

It also includes rules for integrating a second rune, though this is very difficult (-100% I believe), so it is uncommon.

There is no reason I can see that you can't integrate a rune and have a charm of the same rune. The book doesn't cover whether you gain additional benefit. Using Runic Powers you could easily apply two bonuses, using the core rules only it is not so easy. Some benefits do not 'stack', such as Immune to Knockback, while others can, such as +1 to STR, CON, and SIZ.

Barring official clarification I would say that it is entirely up to each GM.
 
Ok great, I just wanted to get that clarified because I have a hsunchan shaman that may think of that sometime in the future. I definitely need to get that PDF when I have some time.
Thanks for the help.
FGO
 
I have the "rune powers" PDF. You could integrate more than one rune (charm in this case) to gain more power, but it's difficult to do.
But again -hohohoh, this is the neverending story :D -, how can I create a charm if I do not have yet one?
The price listed by the fetishes includes the summoning and the fetish creation - I think-. Later you must integrate it spending 1 POW and fighting with the spirit.
Does that mean that the price for the charm is only 100 SP and that I would need 1 POW only for integrate it?

Tank you very much.
 
Back
Top