Changing melee combat range

Bartleby

Mongoose
I would just like to clarify my understanding of this optional rule is correct (as one of my fellow players has a different understanding...)

If I am using a long weapon such as a rapier, and my foe has a short weapon, in melee he will have to burn a combat action to close with me before he can attack.

If I want I can oppose this with Evade or my Weapons skill.

If I use my Weapons skill, we do an opposed check, Weapon skill vs. Evade. If I win, do I inflict damage? In either case, I understand the range is now close.

Also, can this result in a CM? Also (again...), how does Charging tie in with this since a Charge is a move and attack in a single action, does this effectively bypass the need for an extra action to close?
 
I'm going to compound the issue. What if it is a Greatsword against an unarmed attack- is only neseccary close once?
 
Hi Bartleby.
I had trouble understanding that too, but mongoose pete explained it perfectly.

Im sure the thread is somewhere close by but in short what it means is

IF 2 weapon length between weapons then the short weapon cannot attack unless it closes.

It costs the closer 1 CA to move within striking range.
The long weapon user can spend 1 CA and EITHER
try to keep the distance with Oppose roll of Evade, the long weapon user success means does get closed by shorter weapon, failure means he does
OR
spend 1CA to attack using oppose roll of his combat skill vs closer`s evade skill. Success means he does damage, defender cant parry as has tried to evade and close basically with the oppose test. Differences in success level could warrant a CM. REGARDLESS the short weapon succeeds in closing.

If the longer weapon has no CA left or I guess doesn`t wish to spend one the short weapon can close automatically without any test required.

Hope that helps.
 
Back
Top