BFE Transport and Troops

Question:

When troops board a Transport, does the Transport then become the Primary Unit, and the Troops do not have any actions persay till they leave the vehicle by taking a move action?
 
Exactly - the troops are off the board until the Transport is destroyed or they exit. And remember the transport can only take one action the turn the troops return, and the troops can only take one move action.
 
Which brings up another question we had last night.

If my troops disembark can they use a command squad's bonus action?
 
shmitty said:
Which brings up another question we had last night.

If my troops disembark can they use a command squad's bonus action?

Yes, Matthew has already ruled as such. Also, the transport could use the bonus action instead if you need to move further before deployment, or to move away after deployment.

LBH
 
I can't remember if I already asked this...

If troops disembark due to a transport getting shot, they don't get a reaction to that. Can they be suppressed by the explosion of the vehicle (if none of the damage die rolled score 1)? Can they react to other units during that turn?
 
I know my resolution to most, but want OFFICIAL answers not speculation.

Mounting/Dismounting - there is some confusion here on how to interpret the rules. Do the units get 1 action beyond their mount/dismount or is that one Move the only action they get in the round, with the other action getting settled/exiting in the vee?

When mounting do you measure the Move distance to the logical entry spot on the vee (i.e. back door on the Warrior) or simply to the point of being anywhere on the model?

When mounting does your base have to be fully on the vehicle, 50% or simply touching it?

When dismounting, from where do you measure your starting position? (e.g. Can you exit from any edge of the vehicle?)

Since troops in the vehicle are now part of the vehicle they are riding in do they lose all special unit abilities or is that going to be resolved on a case by case basis?

Can units in Technicals still take Ready actions? (i.e. Can snipers snipe from trucks?)

Will there be any rules to attack units mounted in unarmored/non-enclosed vehicles rather than attacking the vehicle itself (such as the MEA Technicals)?

Are you annoyed with me yet? :D
 
Paladin said:
Mounting/Dismounting - there is some confusion here on how to interpret the rules. Do the units get 1 action beyond their mount/dismount or is that one Move the only action they get in the round, with the other action getting settled/exiting in the vee?

A unit mounting or dismounting only gets 1 action that turn (unless supplemented by a Caommand Squad bonus action). They use that action as a Move action to mount or dismount the vehicle.

Lemme see if I can find the ruling.

Question asked here:

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=365213&highlight=clarified#365213

Matt answers it two posts down from there, after Evil asks the same question to his satisfaction.

While I was looking I found a ruling about moving onto/off of transports from Msprange:

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=363472&highlight=transports#363472

(The question was asked by docrailgun 3 posts above Matthew's answer.)

LBH
 
Paladin said:
Since troops in the vehicle are now part of the vehicle they are riding in do they lose all special unit abilities or is that going to be resolved on a case by case basis?

they count as being off-board, so can't use any special abilities

Can units in Technicals still take Ready actions? (i.e. Can snipers snipe from trucks?)

the unit in a Technical can take no action - in effect the technical gets a host of extra weapons while a squad is aboard. So in theory the Technical could ready first action, fire second and any sniper rifles aboard would get the special dice allocation

Will there be any rules to attack units mounted in unarmored/non-enclosed vehicles rather than attacking the vehicle itself (such as the MEA Technicals)?

not to the best of my knowledge
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
Paladin said:
Since troops in the vehicle are now part of the vehicle they are riding in do they lose all special unit abilities or is that going to be resolved on a case by case basis?
they count as being off-board, so can't use any special abilities

Can units in Technicals still take Ready actions? (i.e. Can snipers snipe from trucks?)

the unit in a Technical can take no action - in effect the technical gets a host of extra weapons while a squad is aboard. So in theory the Technical could ready first action, fire second and any sniper rifles aboard would get the special dice allocation

Um... don't those answers contradict each other?
 
The Technical's card states that it can't fire the LMG while carrying troops, but up to 4 weapons in the transported squad can fire with a -1 penalty (and makes no reference to the weapons special rules being negated). it's a case of the card superceeding the core rules.
 
Well the Warrior makes no reference to the command squad losing it's special abilities but MP ruled they do. So it's still a relevant question.
 
the command squad loses its' ability because it doesn't count as being in play while it's in the transport - this is a base rule and not superceeded by the text of the Warrior card. It's a special rule of the Technical that allows the troopers aboard to fire out, not the other way around.
 
The Command Swquad rules that the models must be 'on the table', in a Warrior is not on the table, in the strict sense. At least IIRC, that was the basis of the Mongoose ruling.

LBH
 
So then by that logic, if a command squad or revered leader were to mount a Technical the unit would still be able to grant a bonus action to its unit, but if it gets in a warrior it can't because it's an enclosed structure... :? :? :?
 
The part I think is funniest about the whole leader in the warrior thing, is if the leader can't command from the track, why did the track get 2 fancy antennae?

I would think the radio on the Track would be far more sophisticated and a better "command & communication" option than the grunt with the PRC on his back. :roll:

*shrug* One more for the "House-rule" file.
 
you can turn a standard warrior into a comand unit for 50 points dont forget.

i think its also about game balance, having a command squad in a warrior out of view doesnt seem right to me, having the comand squad in a building drinking tea and giving commands, now that feels right.

but its all about game balance i feel.
 
Mr Evil said:
you can turn a standard warrior into a comand unit for 50 points dont forget.

True, but you can only have 1 command unit per 2000 points IIRC, making the Capt. & his PRC Pack-Mule pretty useless if you buy the Command Option for the Track.

Mr Evil said:
having the comand squad in a building drinking tea and giving commands, now that feels right.

lol, they are British, hehe. 8)
 
Mr Evil said:
you can turn a standard warrior into a comand unit for 50 points dont forget.
But you can't put a warrior in the middle of most buildings.

Mr Evil said:
i think its also about game balance, having a command squad in a warrior out of view doesnt seem right to me, having the comand squad in a building drinking tea and giving commands, now that feels right.

but its all about game balance i feel.
Why? A dead warrior with infantry in it means my tank dies and I risk losing my command squad and possibly losing more points overall than a command warrior if the infantry die in the explosion.

With the clarifications on mounting/dismounting I can't figure out a situation where this is a "game breaker". Perhaps an explanation or couple of examples will clarify things.
 
Back
Top