BEvo Move Shoot Move question

Boomer

Mongoose
A German Puma sits on the other side of a hill from some Yanks. His first action is to move say 5" up and over the hill and shoots at an M36...the Puma then moves back behind the hill using up the remaining movement its allowed and now its not visible to the Yanks.

This doesnt appear legal to me, in that although the rules do not define it precisely, it seems the Puma has performed 3 actions rather than 2...meaning it moved...shot..and moved again. My mate feels its still only 2 actions in that the Puma moved within its allotted amount (one action) as one "fluid" move and then uses a second action by shooting...the rules dont get quite specify enough to say whether this is wrong but it doesnt exactly say it isnt either...basically it makes it impossible for an Attacker to ever really get a shot in at the Defender as long as their is blocking terrain...(sorry - its been 2 years since dusting off the the BEvo stuff so this question may be painfully obvious but there it is) tx to all ! :lol:

Boomer
 
Hi there,

This is legal, as you can make your Shoot action at any point in your move if you are a vehicle.

Think of it this way - if you were running between two buildings, you could fire while between the gap and carry on moving, taking you out of LOS.

To counter this, you need to either a) get a reaction on the vehicle (either by being close or by being shot at!) or b) flank him and remove that cover!
 
Oh? I thought you could only do that if you were using a Special Movement Mode, or are the original B:Evo movement rules (assuming that's what the OP is asking about) different from MC/WAW/SST ?
 
Hmmm..ok...first I agree with you that it does give a certain real-world element to it...I mean I doubt a Puma crew would want to stop and hang around and have tea while the M36 90mm blows it to bits...BUT...again the rules strongly seem to imply that a unit moves...and shoots...or shoots and moves...or whatever...but its always 2 actions that seem to be separate entities...again it doesnt specify that the move shoot and scoot is legal and for as devious as this might be...you'd think the rules would specify that something like this would be allowed...

Its been awhile since I played but somebody must have run into this question at a club or something...anyone else weigh in?

Thanks as always Booms :wink:
 
Hi and sorry chiming in late.
I am daily monitoring the Evolution section, but somehow the Rulesmaster section is slipping thru sometimes.

You can certainly shoot on the move when performing a special move action as described on Page 15 WaW "Special Movement Modes". Quote: "
When making a special type of movement, a model can also execute an attack as if it were using a Shoot or Charge action at any point in its movement if desired."

Remember to re-roll all hits as said on page 40 "Shooting with Vehicles"!
 
Yes...since my last post I discovered you are absolutely correct...my error...I'm usually a rule fanatic but sure missed that one...grrrr...thanks tons tho...and copy on the re-roll if shooting after moving... :oops: (He who sits corrected) Booms
 
Boomer said:
Yes...since my last post I discovered you are absolutely correct...my error...I'm usually a rule fanatic but sure missed that one...grrrr...thanks tons tho...and copy on the re-roll if shooting after moving... :oops: (He who sits corrected) Booms
No problem at all!
:D 8)
 
Rules at times can be viewed differently when the details contained in the rules are not detailed enough so as to avoid confusion.


Your example of run and gun is a good example...

One person may view the lack of instruction as a license run/shoot/and hide.

Another person may view that same instruction as a run shoot but oops you have to stop and wait for the next round of actions.

People like to look for the loophole in the rules or the points of confusion so they can "Bend" the rules in their favor to give them the edge.

The bottom line practical answer is to apply the rules as they are stated word for word without any personal interpretation aka show me in the rule book where is specificly states you can to this. In other words unless the official rules and or subsequent official explanation of those rules specificly states you can then you cannot even if a pure unbiased reading makes the rules look stupid.

You might also check into the official interpretation of the rules by the game makers as stated in post publication explanation of the rules to clear up confusions--no set of rules is perfect the first time out. Just look at the thickness of the explanation of the rules for Mechwarrior or Magic the Gathering that were required to clear up confusion in the official rules.
 
Back
Top