Burger said:No, you can never re-roll a reroll!
katadder said:but on that theory if forced to do a reroll of attack due to XP dice then any that miss would be allowed to reroll through twin link or CAF![]()
katadder said:thats why its best to leave it at just one reroll.
plus personally I hate XP dice forcing opponents to reroll stuff as this just breaks the minbari fleet - pass you stealth, minbari player makes you reroll it, broken.
AdrianH said:Both players roll for initiative. Both players score the same after all modifiers are included; it's a tie, so they re-roll. The re-roll is still a tie. By that rule, they're not allowed to re-roll the re-roll, so who wins initiative?
Burger said:There is a firm ruling, it's on page 3 under the heading "Re-rolls". It says, you can never re-roll a re-roll!
No. A re-roll is where you roll the same die again in an attempt to reverse the original result. A beam hit grants you an additional die with which to try to get another hit. From page 3: "This simply means you may ignore the first failed result that a dice rolled, and roll again." A hit is not my idea of a failed result. However, your covert attempt to promote a beam system which does not include expansion rolls is noted. :lol:Burger said:AdrianH said:Both players roll for initiative. Both players score the same after all modifiers are included; it's a tie, so they re-roll. The re-roll is still a tie. By that rule, they're not allowed to re-roll the re-roll, so who wins initiative?
Not everything in the game which involves rolling dice again, is considered a re-roll as defined on page 3. Take beams for example, if you score a hit then you re-roll it, right?
Not so. From page 5, Initiative Phase: "Any ties are re-rolled".Tie-breakers are similar, they are not re-rolls. You're not re-rolling the same dice and discarding the result of the last; you're rolling another, which effectively adds another "decimal place" to your result.
AdrianH said:No. A re-roll is where you roll the same die again in an attempt to reverse the original result.Burger said:Take beams for example, if you score a hit then you re-roll it, right?
So beams are also re-rolls, therefore the worst weapons in the game.A Beam weapon will always strike a successful hit on a target on the roll of a 4, regardless of its Hull score. Furthermore, if an Attack Dice from this weapon successful strikes a target, immediately re-roll it to attack again.
I repeat, from page 3:Burger said:If you're going by the rules as written regarding initiative being a re-roll, then you have to go by rules as written for beams too.
So beams are also re-rolls, therefore the worst weapons in the game.A Beam weapon will always strike a successful hit on a target on the roll of a 4, regardless of its Hull score. Furthermore, if an Attack Dice from this weapon successfully strikes a target, immediately re-roll it to attack again.
Beam re-rolls are a result of successful rolls. Page 3 re-rolls are a result of failed rolls. Now, if you re-roll that beam die and get a miss, then you're stuck with it - both the beam rule and page 3 forbid a further re-roll. If you hit, it's not a failed result and page 3 does not apply. (Unless your definition of "failed" is different from mine. :lolThis simply means you may ignore the first failed result that a dice rolled, and roll again.
I suppose it depends on whether you regard an initiative tie as a failed result. Personally, since it has failed to determine who won initiative, I'd regard it as such.If you agree that beams are not considered rerolls according to the rules on page 3, then it is surely possible that other mentions of the phrase are not too? You have to use common sense to decide which rolls are re-rolling the same dice (Twin-linked, CAF, Redirect Fire, XP usage) and which are re-rolling a new dice (beams, initiative tie-break).
That was my point, yes. In answer to an emphatic statement that re-rolls may never be re-rolled, I pointed out that this would break the game. Evidently some re-rolls can be re-rolled.Burger said:OK if you're going by the exact lettering of the rules then you're right, it is all messed up and the game is unplayable.
I can't always be sure what the rule writers intended, which is why I asked on Rulesmasters in the first place. However, no guesswork is needed to determine how beam re-rolls work, just a more complete quote from the beam rules:Personally I play by the rules as intended, which are quite obvious in this case. Use common sense to determine if you're re-rolling the same dice (in which case apply page 3 rules), or rolling another dice (don't apply page 3).
Combine this with page 3's reference to failed results, and it is clear that page 3 does not apply to beams.Furthermore, if an Attack Dice from this weapon successfully strikes a target, immediately re-roll it to attack again. You may continue to re-roll every Attack Dice that scores a 4 or more, until you run out of Attack Dice.