Ambush scenario: how do you play yours ?

Iain McGhee

Mongoose
Wee query about the Ambush scenario lads and lassie. Do the ambushed ships get to act normally after the second turn or do they only get to move normally after they make a successful CQ check ?(meaning that it is possible for a ship to never make the roll and fly off the end of the table). Also, if a ship doesn't make it's CQ check can it perform special actions, launch fighters or fire.

I've been playing that the ambushed ships may only move as the scenario states until CQ checks are made and cannot use SAs or launch until they can move normally, but allow them to shoot back. opinions divided on whether that's the correct reading of the scenario special rules or not.
 
To me,

The defending player may only act normally
with his ships if they first pass a Crew Quality check (target number 10). If a ship fails this check, it must move 6” (or up
to its maximum Speed if less than 6) in a straight line.

reads like "You can't do anything with your ship except move forward 6 inches (Or max speed if less) in a straight line unless you pass a CQ10." So, second turn or twentieth, you still need to pass a CQ10 before your ship can do anything except, essentially, drift.
 
Whilst it reads that the effect is ongoing, I think it's been confirmed that it's only intended to be in effect for the first turn.
 
That's how I'd been originally playing it, but on re-reading the scenario description recently I was less sure that was correct. Thanks for the responses.
 
Back
Top