All Stop and Pivot question

I suppose that depends on your interpretation of the rules. The rules say that you must either not move or use the All Stop SA to qualify for AS&P.

One could read that to mean that you could use All Stop and move about half your movement and the AS&P next turn. I think the wording for AS&P should have specified absolutely no movement in the previous turn either through speed reduction crits or through using All Stop to not move at all.
 
R.A.W. said:
All Stop And Pivot! pg 14
Crew Quality Check: Automatic
Effect: So long as the ship used the All Stop! Special Action or otherwise did not move in its last turn, you may use All Stop and Pivot! in its current turn. The ship may not be moved any distance and it may only fire one weapon system. You may turn the ship up to double its normal turn rate, in any direction.

So as long as you meet the requirements of the All Stop SA, you can use AS&P. No debating to be had there.

The debate comes in on the "or otherwise did not move" bit. What do they mean by that? If "did not move" means, "No Turning Either", then using AS&P would preclude doing so the next turn. It also means that ships with 0 Speed can't turn OR use AS&P (despite that the rules seem to be obviously written to permit that).

If, however, you can use AS&P on consecutive turns, then turning is not considered movement, meaning ships with 0 Speed CAN turn and/or use AS&P.


So, who wants to submit this to Rulesmaster's? Because they're the only ones who can give an official answer (and I sure hope they're keeping track of all the Rulesmaster's threads and answers in them for the next book).
 
If ships at speed 0 can AS&P then I think that pretty much forces us to say that Speed 0 is not enough for the AS&P action; otherwise a disabled ship might actually become a better figher.

Consider also that the it doesn't make sense for a Lumbering behometh to AS&P 90 degrees right, then next turn pivot 90 degrees left. The All Stop special order in between these moves would suggest a stopping of the ship's momentum.
 
I've never played it any other way than you simply don't change position on the board (you are allowed to turn the previous turn). A big playtest issue was with "spinning" Sagittariuses and it was taked that ships could AS&P in consecutive turns. That's the intention of the rule at least.
 
lastbesthope said:
Oh yes, you can still oddge so long as you move a bit, but then that prevents you pivoting on the next turn.

LBH
No it doesn't. If you use All Stop then you can All Stop and Pivot on the next turn - regardless of whether you move up to half speed or not in the first turn.
 
Triggy said:
I've never played it any other way than you simply don't change position on the board (you are allowed to turn the previous turn). A big playtest issue was with "spinning" Sagittariuses and it was taked that ships could AS&P in consecutive turns. That's the intention of the rule at least.

Okay, so playtesting allowed for "spinning Sagittariuses" (great phrase) which would suggest that the turret I wondered about is okay. Is this "official"?
 
animus said:
Triggy said:
I've never played it any other way than you simply don't change position on the board (you are allowed to turn the previous turn). A big playtest issue was with "spinning" Sagittariuses and it was taked that ships could AS&P in consecutive turns. That's the intention of the rule at least.

Okay, so playtesting allowed for "spinning Sagittariuses" (great phrase) which would suggest that the turret I wondered about is okay. Is this "official"?
Yes, but you can only "spin" up to twice your normal turn rate, and only fire 1 weapon system. So a Sag or a Primus can only turn up to 90 degrees.
 
Back
Top