This came up on the ACtA board but whizzed by and I'm not sure where else I saw it.
When a ship receives a shields critical it lowers its _game_ starting shield score by 5 (RAW, FAQ) not the current shield value. This may or may not lower current shield value if not boosted.
In the 'Boost Energy to Shields!' Special Action the word 'starting', in relation to shield score, is used again. Does a shield-damaged ship it roll a number of dice equal to its _game_ starting shield score (as implied by the FAQ) or its _game_ starting shield value.
For example, a ship with 24 shields (an FFG, perhaps?) takes a -5 shields critical, giving it a max shields of 19. Damage that turn reduces shields down to 12. Next turn, the ships wishes to use the BEtS SA. Does it roll +2D6 (from its _game_ starting score of 24) or +1D6 (from its _turn_ starting maximum shield score of 19).
Thanks for clearing this up. I've been using _game_ starting score, which helps the Feds I play against even when though I play Klingongs.
T
When a ship receives a shields critical it lowers its _game_ starting shield score by 5 (RAW, FAQ) not the current shield value. This may or may not lower current shield value if not boosted.
In the 'Boost Energy to Shields!' Special Action the word 'starting', in relation to shield score, is used again. Does a shield-damaged ship it roll a number of dice equal to its _game_ starting shield score (as implied by the FAQ) or its _game_ starting shield value.
For example, a ship with 24 shields (an FFG, perhaps?) takes a -5 shields critical, giving it a max shields of 19. Damage that turn reduces shields down to 12. Next turn, the ships wishes to use the BEtS SA. Does it roll +2D6 (from its _game_ starting score of 24) or +1D6 (from its _turn_ starting maximum shield score of 19).
Thanks for clearing this up. I've been using _game_ starting score, which helps the Feds I play against even when though I play Klingongs.
T