[ACTA] Fleet Carrier

Locutus9956

Mongoose
This one came up at our local club yeasterday:

If a fighter dies in a dogfight, is more than 10" from the fleet carrier and is within 4" of an enemy ship then techically that requires a 7+ to recover.

(5+ base, +1 died in dogfight, +1 died within 4" of enemy ship (or whatever the precice ranges are I dont have the book with me at the moment))

My question is twofold:

Firtsly is the dogfight/enemy ship thing cumulative or is it meant to be read as +1 to the target number if it dies within 4" of the enemy OR in a dogfight (but still only +1 if both apply).

Secondly if they ARE cumulative (and its therefore possible to require a 7+) does a roll of 6 automatically pass?
 
I don't know about the cumulative or individual rule regarding the modifiers stacking, but I do know that in the 2nd ed rules the only time a 6 is an auto success and a 1 is an auto miss is during shooting. So I would say that if you need a 7+ to rescue a fighter...well, it's not getting rescued. ;)
 
As usual in ACTA, the bonuses from different sources are cumulative. So you get +1 for for dogfight and +1 for being close to en enemy ship. But you wouldn't get multiple +1's for being close to multiple enemy ships, or multiple -1's for being close to multiple fleet carriers, etc.
 
does the rule the text of the rule actually differentiate between the two? If it is one line (ie... if in a dogfight/within 4 inches of another ship...) I'm not sure that would be two seperate things, it would be one penalty type to me.

Otherwise, given fighters ARE ships, every loss in a dogfight would be a minus two to the roll.

Ripple
 
from rulebook:

If an enemy ship (not fighter flight) was within 4” of the counter when it was removed or if it was removed during a dogfight, apply a –1 penalty to this dice roll, these penalties are cumulative. A +1 bonus to the roll is granted if the flight was within 10” of the fl eet carrier.

IMO this ends some discusions.
Burger is right (as usual? ;))

and:
A roll of a 6 always means that the attack can proceed as normal.
This is only mentioned in stealth rule. This IMO means, that there is NOT general rule.

In that case answer on your second question is NO
 
Back
Top