While my last question about Black Omega recovery on fleet carriers was described as fluff vs. rules and the consensus was to favor the text of the rule rather than the spirit it seems, let me post the exact opposite on this one where the rules clearly allow it based on the text but it is completely absurd if you think about it.
On page 31 of the rule book it states, "Each supporting flight adds +1 to the ship's Interceptors trait..."
On page 71 of the fleet lists book it reads, "The Escort ship may lend any all of its Interceptor dice to any friendly ship within 8" and in line of sight."
Note that it does not state its starting Interceptor rating, so within the text of the rule it appears that you could support a Maximus with 4 fighters and lend up to 6 dice to friendlies. How those fighters are doing such with range 2 weapons is quite the trick though.
On page 31 of the rule book it states, "Each supporting flight adds +1 to the ship's Interceptors trait..."
On page 71 of the fleet lists book it reads, "The Escort ship may lend any all of its Interceptor dice to any friendly ship within 8" and in line of sight."
Note that it does not state its starting Interceptor rating, so within the text of the rule it appears that you could support a Maximus with 4 fighters and lend up to 6 dice to friendlies. How those fighters are doing such with range 2 weapons is quite the trick though.