6inch fire zone

center. you shoot at a certain point, up to your maximum weapon range. that point is the center of the zone. anything within 6" from that zone is an target. so, if you have a lot of dice or few targets it practically gives you addiional 6" of range in adition of your weapon's max.
 
This is how I understand it as well. This is how it works in SST, and most all of the rules seem to carry over from one system to the other.
 
Here's a couple of quotes from the rulesheet:

A Fire Zone is simply a 6” radius

Every model with a weapon can use it to attack any enemy that it can see and is within range (range is measured to the centre of the Fire Zone, not
to each enemy model within the Fire Zone).

LBH
 
Is it just me, but given your quote, LBH:

and is within range (range is measured to the centre of the Fire Zone, not
to each enemy model within the Fire Zone).

you CAN'T add the 6" of the FZ to the range, since the weapon affects only enemies within its unmodified range.

So, if that's right, for example, when shooting a 15" range weapon and setting the FZ at the 15th inch, it basically affects only models within the semicircle closer to the firing model.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but that's how I think of it after re-reading the rules.
 
Okay, when you shoot, you place a fire zone where the center has to be within your unit's range. Any enemy units caught in that fire zone are considered in range, now all that's left is to see if you hav line of sight to them. Line of sight is not range.

That's clearly written in the rules. Anything else said is simply a response to a confusingly worded question.

Remember that the firezone is a 6" radius, not diameter. Radius is a measurement from the center of a circle to its edge. Diameter is from edge to edge through the center. So a fire zone would have a diameter of 12".
 
;) keep thinking simple.

range is only measured to center of fire zone, if a modle cant hit the modle in the center of the fire zone due to range he cant hit anything in the firezone evan if one of the modles becomes close enough due to the 6" radius ;) it works both ways.
 
Don_Silvarro said:
Is it just me, but given your quote, LBH:

and is within range (range is measured to the centre of the Fire Zone, not
to each enemy model within the Fire Zone).

you CAN'T add the 6" of the FZ to the range, since the weapon affects only enemies within its unmodified range.

So, if that's right, for example, when shooting a 15" range weapon and setting the FZ at the 15th inch, it basically affects only models within the semicircle closer to the firing model.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but that's how I think of it after re-reading the rules.

I think you are wrong, the centre of the fire zone is what range is measured to (explicitly stated in the rules) and anything in the ?Fire Zone can be shot at so long as you have LoS to it, (also explicitly stated)

So if you have a 15" range weapon, and place you fire zone centre 15" away, a model 18" away that's in the fire zone would be eligible for damage dice.

There is almost a precedent for thids but it is from a playtest era battle report from S&P 37 P.62:

Both SAS teams advanced as well, with team two
taking advantage of the extra 6”given by the Fire
Zone to target the leading members of enemy
team white two

Not conclusive I know as it was a playtest report, but still.

A similar thing happens with Emines in ACTA, thay have a 3" radius area of effect so can effectively hit 'beyond range' targets when targeting the edge of their range.

Plus what Evil said while I was typing this up, though the solution would be to place the centre of the fire zone closer so that iot was in range.

I'm sure the game designers took the 6" 'extension' of range into account when they designed the game.

Think of this, a Challenger main gun has a range of 72", add the 6" radius and you could hit something 78" away, if it is in LoS. Then add the 2" burst effect it has from the centre of the first model it allocates a Damage Dice to (and these models need not be in LoS) so you can technically hit something 80" away that isn't in LoS so long as you can hit something that is in your max range Fire Zone (which has to be in LoS)

LBH
 
Either the rules sheet or the advanced rulebook (can't remember which, far too lazy to check) makes reference to effective range being 6" further than actual range due to the fire zones.
 
So, this 6inch fire zone. Is that 6 inches from edge to edge fo the template. That would make it 3 inches out from the centre point.
OR
is it 12 inches across, making it 6 inches from the center point?

I guess I should look up what Radius means huh?
 
Galactic Fatt Patt said:
So, this 6inch fire zone. Is that 6 inches from edge to edge fo the template. That would make it 3 inches out from the centre point.
OR
is it 12 inches across, making it 6 inches from the center point?

I guess I should look up what Radius means huh?

12" across, 6" from the center point.
 
Back
Top