(WaW) Ambush special rule and Reactions

Wargoat

Mongoose
I have 2 questions concerning the rules in World at War.

1-The rulebook states that the unit deployed in ambush may be revealed after a unit has completed an action. Is it possible to reveal your unit and then making a Reaction right after?

2-When making a Reaction, do you need to see(trace a line of sight) to the unit triggering the Reaction?

In our case, we answered yes to both questions, but I would like to have an ''official'' answer from you guys...
 
Unofficial, but as you don't have any replies:

1: Shouldn't think so. The ambushing unit technically isn't on the table until it's revealed, so I don't see how it could React to an action that takes place before it's deployed.

2: Can't see anything that states that LOS is required. Obviously if you're making a Reaction to weapons fire both firer and target will have LOS anyway, but if the Reaction is due to proximity it could be argued that the unit could hear the enemy if they get close enough to trigger a Reaction anyway. As Reactions follow normal rules a Shoot reaction WOULD require LOS as normal, if that's what you're not sure of.
 
Here's my take:

1. No you cannot. Unless a rule specifically states that you start the game readied, you must spend an action to gain this status. I don't believe that the ambush rule says this (although I don't have it right in front of me).

2. Yes. Reaction is not predicated upon LOS unless specifically stated in some advanced rule or trait.

Jay
 
Back
Top