Torpedoes

Not too sure on this, as an example, "Ceres" light cruiser, this ships roster (p77) has 4x21" torps.Port & 4x21" torps. Stbd. both one shot with a range of 10" and 4xAD. Does this mean that you are firing (from one side) with "one shot" 4xtorpedoes in one go, which is how I read it or could you fire 4xtorpedoes one at a time in 4 seperate turns? If it is the former, in the torpedoe rule (P20) 1."Spread on Target" roll a D6 for each torpedoe... if you are firing 4xtorpedoes then I would roll 4xD6 for this, if only one D6 was "on target" according to 2."Torpedoe Attack" I would roll 1xD6 is that right? As a point of interest does this mean that "Ceres" only carried a total of 8xtorpedoes? Thanks in advance, Jack.
 
Port Torpedoes(2x21")...........10....2....3....AP,OS
Starboard Torpedoes(2x21")...10....2....3.....AP,OS

when a ship has torpedo tubes launching from port and starboard this is the layout and they fire seperately. now when fired all tube in the group fire together from one set of tubes. in this case there are two torpedos fired from one side or the other. allowing two different attacks.

Port / Starboard Torpedoes(4x21")....10...4...3...AP,OS
when a ship has torpedo tubes launching from center line all four tubes would launch at the same time. The four attack dice are the tubes.

Port / Starboard Torpedoes(4x21")....10...4...3...AP,OS
Port / Starboard Torpedoes(4x21")....10...4...3...AP,OS

In this case there are two center line tube groups allowing two different attacks.
tube groups cannot be seperated into multiple attacks. each tube group fires together at once.
reloading tubes is after the battle not during the battle being the reason for one shot.
 
Raymond, thanks for your info on how torpedoes were used. I was slightly puzzled when I first read your reply as I was refering to AOD and you I think VAS. WW2? :)
 
I thought that might be the case but I didnt have those rules infront of me at the time so i went with what I know best is the WW2 rules.
 
Apparently reloading the torpedo tubes was a bit of an embuggerance and couldn't be done in action. A bit like some modern missile systems, like the TOW launcher on the US Bradley IFV. If you've played any naval games like Enigma: Rising Tide or Battlestations: Midway you've probably been misled by the fact ships can reload their torps in action in those games. A bit unrealistic.
 
My understanding is most ships were loaded before leaving dock and thats all they carried. they had no extra torps or a way to reload them if they did. Only the Japanese had devices for reloading the tubes in the field mounted on the ships.
 
the bradley can reload and give good cover to the loader
But the turret has to be facing the right way and cannot be engaging targets
The Bradley would need to disengage from combat for a few minutes to reload ,then return to battle[/quote]


If thats true i would not want to be in a Bradley oh wait a minute were talking about ships not fighting in the desert. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Back
Top