Loz said:
From a common sense POV, any spells an individual sorcerer casts will not affect themselves: thus a Neutralise spell will not neutralise either itself or any other spell its combined with when cast by the originating sorcerer. To affect a target the Neutralise must be powerful enough to overcome any Countermagic, so you need to think about the manipulations and magnitudes involved, but you shouldn't need to worry about your own Neutralise spell nerfing anything else you cast or combine it with.
As always, look at the common sense perspective first before applying the RAW; should help in 99% of cases and exceptions!
Well Neutralise Magic is an autonomous spell. So say the following happens:
I cast Neutralise Magic 73% at a target allowing me to dispel up to 8 Mag of spells. The target has Protect 2 in place. The Protect 2 is dispelled leaving NM with enough juice left to dispel 6 Mag. For the duration of the spell presumably the neutralize magic will take down the next 6 Mag of spells that affect the target. So, if the target tries to cast Protect 2 again then the neutralise will dispel it. It follows pretty logically from the description of autonomous spells and the description of NM.
For example, if someone under the influence of Treat Wounds is not currently injured, the spell doesn't go away, it sits around and automatically heals injuries as and when they happen.
Now neutralise magic could work differently 'just because' but there's no indication in the rules that this should be the case and therefore if NM is an exception it should be marked as such.
If, if you cast NM on someone who has Protect 2 and Wrack (Mag 1) then the NM will take them both out. NM doesn't care who cast the spell or whether it's helping or hindering the target.
Similarly NM is autonomous therefore continues affecting its target automatically until its Duration runs out or it runs out of juice. Ipso facto, as they say in Iceland, if NM finds a spell it can dispel at any time during its duration, it will dispel it.
Personally, I don't think a common sense POV is not really a good idea for magic due to the fact that a) magic isn't really amenable to common sense and b) one person's common sense is rarely the same as another's. This is especially true with Living Glorantha where players can reasonably ask GMs to run scenarios RAW rather than based on their own interpretation unless agreed before hand.
Naturally, NM could be officially clarified to say that it doesn't affect spells cast on the target afterwards, or that it can't affect spells it is combined with or both. Neither currently follows from the RAW.