socal insurance...

lutz

Mongoose
peppers, mushrooms, and cherry tomatoes, are tasty and available all year Vegetable broth with shredded white radish ments and/or purposely misleading the public with false
Wait a second before bashing either direction starts Modern originally started sponsoring the other org That's great They provide parts for all of us at good prices I've sent him tens of thous
be fruits and vegetables and greens that were not cooked. I went to the 5 drops essential oil of geranium natural solvent for uric acid crystals that attack the joints
LITTLE GIRL ON A PLANE A stranger was seated next to a little girl on the airplane when the stranger turned to her and said, 'Let's talk. I've heard that flights go quicker if you strike up a conve
 
lutz said:
Saving my pennies for the advanced rulebook [slowly I'm afraid ] but in the mean time.
Been scrouring the forums for info etc... and have some questions...........
Is there an FAQ planned for the most common nagging questions or maybe a 2nd edition within a year I should wait for ?
No word. With the minis on pause I doubt it's going anywhere anytime soon. I recommend reading S&P 47 for more info:
http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/pdf/sp47war.pdf
lutz said:
So you can only use grenades against or within 6" of a structure and it is counted as 1 attack [ like all the squad threw grenades at once ] They can't be used in the open. or against people behind walls or barrels or whatever they are crouched behind that isn't a structure. If so ,WHAT possible reason could there be for not being able to toss a grenade over a mud wall at enemies on the other side. I've seen it happen on the news a few times in Irag so far. Too overpowering gamewise ?
If on top of a building you can throw grenades at approaching troops within 6 ", not just against troops in the buildings ?
Grenade rules have a lot on quirks that don't make sense. Unfortunately, I suggest you play a few games and vote with your group on what makes sense to you.

lutz said:
If I fire a M-203 at an enemy and hit him and there is an enemy within 1" of him and he is behind a wall facing me BUT there is now wall/cover on the side toward the hit enemy then he does or doesn't get a cover bonus VS. the splash damage ?
does.

lutz said:
There is no distinctions between light,medium and heavy building cover-wise ?
sort of. For destruction of the structure, not the blockage.

lutz said:
The height rule is if above a target a certain height you get bonus armour rolls against the weak sides of vechs. only, nothing special against troops ?
Rules for elevated firing positions are in the rulebook.

lutz said:
There is no on board artillery at all including mortars ?
Offboard only.

lutz said:
Any rules running out of ammo in advanced section or running back to transport for new AT ones etc....?
Nope. The game is focued on simplicity and not tracking ammo. In most cases the games don't last long enough to matter.
lutz said:
Any rules in advanced for fires and fired spreading ?
Nope. Simplicity and shortness of game. There are rules for smoke, but a bit lacking.
lutz said:
Civillians caught on the battlefield ?
Yes. They die if they are in the firezone. ;) Advanced rules to not shoot them? You'd think so, but no.

Dear Mongoose or ambitious gamer,

Please consider this for a future S&P article like the riding on tanks rule.

Best regards,

Paladin
lutz said:
There no firm or semi-firm date for when model production will resume ?
nope.
lutz said:
Does the Osprey really have all the listed weapons on its card or are they options or something ?
I sure hope not. But there has been no retraction from MP.
 
Paladin said:
lutz said:
lutz said:
If I fire a M-203 at an enemy and hit him and there is an enemy within 1" of him and he is behind a wall facing me BUT there is now wall/cover on the side toward the hit enemy then he does or doesn't get a cover bonus VS. the splash damage ?
does.

Really ? I assumed that since that side of him is open to the explosion it would. Doees that relate to the thing about it being in cover from MY LOS instead of from the targets ?

Sorry the original message should have said no wall/cover not now wall/cover.


Also are the any d8s in the advanced book or is it all d6 and d10 ?
 
lutz said:
Paladin said:
lutz said:
If I fire a M-203 at an enemy and hit him and there is an enemy within 1" of him and he is behind a wall facing me BUT there is now wall/cover on the side toward the hit enemy then he does or doesn't get a cover bonus VS. the splash damage ?
does.

Really ? I assumed that since that side of him is open to the explosion it would. Doees that relate to the thing about it being in cover from MY LOS instead of from the targets ?

Sorry the original message should have said no wall/cover not now wall/cover.
After the typo clarification, no. Splash damage originates from the direction of the model targetted. At least that's the way we play.

Also are the any d8s in the advanced book or is it all d6 and d10 ?
No. Just the 2 dice.
 
The grenade rules are covered completely in the Rule section at www.evocommand.com. I wrote them up for all to use, based on rulings by Matt here at this website.

If you can't find what your looking for, ask me and I'll give you a link to them. Also make sure you take a look at the errata topic found in the same section at Evo.

Is there an FAQ planned for the most common nagging questions or maybe a 2nd edition within a year I should wait for ?

I asked player to give my questions they think need a faq. None has taken me up on it. All questions to date have answers that are fond at the Evo site in the Rule section. Just ask me and I'll make sure you get your answer based on information I have collected from MP.

So you can only use grenades against or within 6" of a structure and it is counted as 1 attack [ like all the squad threw grenades at once ] They can't be used in the open. or against people behind walls or barrels or whatever they are crouched behind that isn't a structure. If so ,WHAT possible reason could there be for not being able to toss a grenade over a mud wall at enemies on the other side. I've seen it happen on the news a few times in Irag so far. Too overpowering gamewise ?

Presently that is how MP intended them to be used. Against those in Structures only. BTW: most government style troops have those underslung grenade launcher to do that kind of work at a better distance.

If on top of a building you can throw grenades at approaching troops within 6 ", not just against troops in the buildings ?

Only against troops in structures.

If I fire a M-203 at an enemy and hit him and there is an enemy within 1" of him and he is behind a wall facing me BUT there is now wall/cover on the side toward the hit enemy then he does or doesn't get a cover bonus VS. the splash damage ?

Yes

There is no distinctions between light,medium and heavy building cover-wise ?

Correct.

The height rule is if above a target a certain height you get bonus armour rolls against the weak sides of vechs. only, nothing special against troops ?

Correct.

There is no on board artillery at all including mortars ?

Correct, the offboard stuff are really the different size mortars. Not true artillery. Which would be too powerful, in my opinion.

Any rules running out of ammo in advanced section or running back to transport for new AT ones etc....?

None

Any rules in advanced for fires and fired spreading ?

None

Civillians caught on the battlefield ?

None, I do not think MP would want to go in that direction. Feel free to make your own rules. I made on that if a building is destroyed the side that did it would lose some points based on the building size, toward the victory point rules.

There no firm or semi-firm date for when model production will resume ?

None, but MP has been hinting something is in the wind in the near future. Let's hope that is true.

Does the Osprey really have all the listed weapons on its card or are they options or something ?

No, but That is the way MP made the card. Feel free to change it to reflex a more factual version, or just go with the flow, your choice.



Have fun..
 
Are the Artillery and Resolute Leader card rules for Starship Troopers Evo similar to BF: Evo's Artillery and Revered Leaders rules ?
 
lutz said:
Are the Artillery and Resolute Leader card rules for Starship Troopers Evo similar to BF: Evo's Artillery and Revered Leaders rules ?

The BF:Evo arty works in a similar method to the bombs listed on aircraft cards, and the plasma bug card for SST:Evo.
 
Might I ask what the radius or fire zone size of artillery is ? And there are landmines correct ?
 
lutz said:
Might I ask what the radius or fire zone size of artillery is ? And there are landmines correct ?

Same as most other FZs 6" radius. And yes, there are landmines in the main rule book. Two types of landmines, personal and vehicle.
 
The Old Soldier said:
Does the Osprey really have all the listed weapons on its card or are they options or something ?

No, but That is the way MP made the card. Feel free to change it to reflex a more factual version, or just go with the flow, your choice.

As I said in the LAV thread, the weapons have to be a misprint. They're not mentioned in the weapons loadout on the front of the card, there's no special rules listed for them, and the Osprey is only 120 points. Plus, The MGs that should be on there according to the front of the card excepted, they're the weapons from the JSF...
 
Well they should print a new one in the next issue, so as not to confuse those that like to use them cards. Sloppy.... But, I have issues with the transport capablities for vehicles also, but like I said, MP can make what ever they wish, I'm not going to argue the issue anymore.

Let's hope they tighten up their proof reading skills.
 
Oh, thanks for the answers so far.

Haven't really tried the EFTF yet. Just noticed the British MBT LAW card makes no mention of not being able to fire as a reaction unlike the other ATs so far . Could that have been a misprint ?

And emplacements add additional bonus to the cover bonus or you have to beat the emplacement stats to score hits on those inside ? Do any emplacements come with built in weaponry like a heavy mg that can be manned ?
 
Haven't really tried the EFTF yet. Just noticed the British MBT LAW card makes no mention of not being able to fire as a reaction unlike the other ATs so far . Could that have been a misprint ?

No, all AT weapons so far can not fire in the reaction phase, but if you have rifles with those troops they can use them in reaction.

And emplacements add additional bonus to the cover bonus or you have to beat the emplacement stats to score hits on those inside ? Do any emplacements come with built in weaponry like a heavy mg that can be manned ?

Sadly emplacements work just like Structures. My house rule is that troops in structure except open top ones, gain a unmodified 4+ save while in them. As for the other part to your question, No presently, you supply the troops types and weapons, there are none fixed in the emplacements.
 
Well that would certainly seems to give the Brits an AT advantage. Might have to give them a whirl.

In advanced can you split a squads FZ's like say I had enemies to the right and forward. Is there an advanced option to have 2 or 3 guys fire foward and the rest fire on the ones to the right ?
 
lutz said:
Well that would certainly seems to give the Brits an AT advantage. Might have to give them a whirl.

What advantage? The rifles? They still can't use those AT weapons in reaction.

In advanced can you split a squads FZ's like say I had enemies to the right and forward. Is there an advanced option to have 2 or 3 guys fire foward and the rest fire on the ones to the right ?

You can always split a squads fire. In other words make more than one FZ, that is not a advance rule, but a basic one. You will lose some dice to do so, but sometimes it is worth it. Again the Main Rule book covers it well.
 
In that the Brit, AT card doesn't mention it can't bu used as a reaction.

MBT LAW: This weapon causes a –3 penalty to Armour rolls against the target in the centre of its fire zone, and will roll extra Damage Dice against every model within 1” of the centre of the model its first Damage Dice is allocated to - these extra models need not be in Line of Sight. If a model of Size 2 or greater is within the Fire Zone, you may opt to roll this weapon’s Damage Dice against that model, rather than allocate normally.

The other ATs say can never be fired as a reaction. So the Brit . one can the way the card is written ??
 
It is either a misprint or a abreviation. Reason is the card does say it can be only used once a turn. (that being your turn). Reactions take place in the enemy turn.

If you ask MP directly, I'll bet money that the AT weapon can not be used as a reaction.
 
The Old Soldier said:
It is either a misprint or a abreviation. Reason is the card does say it can be only used once a turn. (that being your turn). Reactions take place in the enemy turn.

If you ask MP directly, I'll bet money that the AT weapon can not be used as a reaction.

I'll do that { after I try convincing someone to let me play the way the card reads just once }
I assume helicoptors can stay on the battlefield but to jets stay on enough to warrant an actual model, on a table smaller than 6X4. Are they fleeting enough to just use some sort of marker ?

The "If every model in the target unit is assigned two or more Damage Dice when this weapon is used, the unit will lose two actions from Suppression, rather than just one ". rule. Does that mean if every supression dice is just from that weapon or if the supression dice included that weapon ?

Did you mean the split FZ rule is in the basic BOOk, cause I don't see it on the baisc SHEET ?
 
Back
Top