Shields

Stumonster said:
So consensus would be that:

b) One does halve damage received in the forward arc on Klingon (and Romulan Klingon based) ships if the shields are at 0 but have been boosted due to the Boost Energy to Shields! SA

Might be something to clarify in the Errata.
If the shields have been boosted, they are no longer at 0. they are at d6 or 2d6 points.
 
Whe you use the boost energy to shields SA, I know the extra shield is lost at the end of the turn. But:

Lets says your Fed CA was reduced to 18 shilds, you rolled 3 D6 and got all 6's for 18. Your shield is not hit this turn. In the next turn is your shield at 18 or 24?
 
Nomad, yep I relize that, when I put together the example, I initially thought from memory the Fed CA had 30 shields. Then before I hit enter checked and it only had 24 but forgot to adjust the number of die rolled. :oops:
 
So if I understand it right, Shield Boost is both repair and reinforcement, yes?

Let's say the CA, which starts with 24 shields, has taken a few hits and is at 18 left. It uses Shield Boost and roll box-cars on 2d6. So, for this turn only its shields are at (18+12) 30 points, and as long as it has not taken more than 6 hits on shields during this turn, they're back to a full 24 for the next turn and there after (until the ship is hit again).

Is that correct???

Or does Shield Boost only take them up to the original amount, and the extra are lost?
 
Yes, as I understand it, your post is correct. It is both reinforcement and repair. A ship with 18 shields that rolls a 12 goes up to 30 to the end of the turn, and then at the end of the turn it drops down to the original maximum Shield rating (24 in the example you quoted).
 
Back
Top