rules master link

can a ship escorting fighters within 8", give fighters the antifighter trait,
before they are engaged in a dogfight? i.e they do not engage but are engaged whilst within 8" of an escort which gives them its AF dice.
 
yes it can - A Maximus can also lend interceptor dice to them if it so choose.........

If I get a chance I'll find the link
 
I'm pretty sure they can. At least thats what happened to my centris when that attacked my friends vree fighters yesterday. The vree were all withing 8 of a saucer with the escort trait, and only 1 flight out of 4 survived the anti-fighter fire to dogfight.
 
I'm going to call a "no" on this.... here is my reasoning.

When the enemy moves his fighters into dogfight base contact, that is in the movement phase.
Escorts assign their anti-fighter dice just before anti-fighter fire is resolved; that is at the end of the movement phase. So all fighter movement is performed before AF dice are assigned.
Therefore, when the enemy moves into dogfight, your fighters don't have the AF trait yet. So the AF rule exception about fighters with the AF trait, does not apply, because when the enemy fighters move into contact, your fighters do not have the AF trait.
So the normal "can't use AF against fighters involved in a dogfight" rule applies.

That's my take on the RAW... I think the intent of the Escort rule probably would be "yes" though.
 
Foxmeister said:
Yes they can - it's in the ACTA FAQ.
Time to get technical - it says that Escorts can give their AF dice to fighters... but it doesn't say the fighters can use these AF dice against enemy fighters they are in a dogfight with... ;)
 
Burger said:
Foxmeister said:
Yes they can - it's in the ACTA FAQ.
Time to get technical - it says that Escorts can give their AF dice to fighters... but it doesn't say the fighters can use these AF dice against enemy fighters they are in a dogfight with... ;)

Yes it does:

Rulebook P28.
However some special fighters may also have the Anti-Fighter trait. which may be used just before a dogfight is initiated, as enemy fighters move into contact

Regards,

Dave
 
Foxmeister said:
Burger said:
Foxmeister said:
Yes they can - it's in the ACTA FAQ.
Time to get technical - it says that Escorts can give their AF dice to fighters... but it doesn't say the fighters can use these AF dice against enemy fighters they are in a dogfight with... ;)

Yes it does:

Rulebook P28.
However some special fighters may also have the Anti-Fighter trait. which may be used just before a dogfight is initiated, as enemy fighters move into contact

Regards,

Dave
But when the enemy fighters move into contact (movement phase) your fighters do not have the AF trait... Escorts assign AF dice after the movement phase! So that esception to the "no firing at fighteers in a dogfight" does not apply, because your fighters are not "special" at that point in the movement phase.
 
Burger said:
Escorts assign AF dice after the movement phase!

Where is this stated? Certainly not in the description of the "Escort" trait. It says that you assign the trait (dice) before AF. Since the actual AF fire occurs at the end of the movement phase, using your definition would mean that the Escort trait would never work for anyone!

Regards,

Dave
 
Foxmeister said:
Burger said:
Escorts assign AF dice after the movement phase!

Where is this stated? Certainly not in the description of the "Escort" trait. It says that you assign the trait (dice) before AF.
Well I am assuming that "before" means "immediately before". If it means "at any point before" then I concede that the answer to the OP is "yes" - on the condition that you assign your Escort's AF dice before moving your fighters into dogfight (or before he moves his fighters into dogfight with yours).

Foxmeister said:
[Since the actual AF fire occurs at the end of the movement phase, using your definition would mean that the Escort trait would never work for anyone!
No, the Escort trait says you assign AF dice before AF fire.
 
Burger said:
Foxmeister said:
Burger said:
Escorts assign AF dice after the movement phase!

Where is this stated? Certainly not in the description of the "Escort" trait. It says that you assign the trait (dice) before AF.
Well I am assuming that "before" means "immediately before". If it means "at any point before" then I concede that the answer to the OP is "yes" - on the condition that you assign your Escort's AF dice before moving your fighters into dogfight (or before he moves his fighters into dogfight with yours).

Foxmeister said:
[Since the actual AF fire occurs at the end of the movement phase, using your definition would mean that the Escort trait would never work for anyone!
No, the Escort trait says you assign AF dice before AF fire.

Yes, but you said that Escorts assign AF dice *after* the movement phase! AF fire occurs at the *end* of the movement phase, but still in the movement phase. That is the point I was trying to make.

Regards,

Dave
 
Thought it was more like ship movement - fighter movement - assign AF-resolve AF - fighter fire + dogfight - ship fire which would allow fighters to have AF assigned before dogfights occured as long as they remained within 8" of the escort that donated the trait.

When this came up before, the way AF worked with fighters moving into a dogfight was that the AF fired as the enemy closed.
 
Regardless I think were getting very very hair splitty and looking for a way to ignore what, for once seems to be a pretty clear ruling. I'd say personally it's fairly obvious that fighters that get AF dice assigned to them are intended to function identically to Volon fighters and be allowed to use their AF dice in self defence if they wish.

Frankly I'd say this could all be resolved much more easily if AF worked as it does in Full Thrust though (sorry to repeat myself but as with so many other rules, Full Thrust just does this one better than ACTA). In fact, though it IS improved over the original version, ACTA still handles fighters as a whole, very poorly in my oppinion.
 
Locutus9956 said:
Regardless I think were getting very very hair splitty and looking for a way to ignore what, for once seems to be a pretty clear ruling. I'd say personally it's fairly obvious that fighters that get AF dice assigned to them are intended to function identically to Volon fighters and be allowed to use their AF dice in self defence if they wish.

Frankly I'd say this could all be resolved much more easily if AF worked as it does in Full Thrust though (sorry to repeat myself but as with so many other rules, Full Thrust just does this one better than ACTA). In fact, though it IS improved over the original version, ACTA still handles fighters as a whole, very poorly in my oppinion.
Agree. I dislike the slowness of fighters & dogfight in general. They have weapons let them use them. I like the way AF works & even they way escort works even though it seems a little strange.
 
Back
Top