Rules check: Romulans and cloak

eldiablito

Mongoose
So, I'm getting a feel for the rules by playing some small games. This time I tried out 2 king eagles versus 2 D7 s. Please correct me if I miss read any rules

1) So as I read it, when the Romulans are cloaked, they only move 6" and the turn once.

2) once the Romulans decloak, you get an additional 6" and free turn (beyond the normal 12" move)!

3) Finall, a D7 got a lucky hit on a cloaked bird, but I don't see any modifiers to change the 2+ afterwards. FYI, this assumption is from playing B5. In that game, my minbari were always stealth 5+ after scouting and getting hit with energy mines.

So, did I miss anything?
 
Re. 1) Speed's reduced to 6, turn mode is unchanged (so a Condor can't turn except by halting and turning while cloaked).

Re. 2): You only get the 6" and turn when you decloak instead of a normal move ("may not move further this turn" as per the rule on p16).
 
ummm... #2:
I thought the 6 inch movement and turn of up to 45 degrees when using the Disengage Cloak! special action was considered the uncloaking ships movement for this turn???
 
eldiablito said:
So, I'm getting a feel for the rules by playing some small games. This time I tried out 2 king eagles versus 2 D7 s. Please correct me if I miss read any rules

1) So as I read it, when the Romulans are cloaked, they only move 6" and the turn once.
As per the cloak rules on Pg 16, you may indeed only move 6" while cloaked. As I see it, turning is limited by the Turn characteristic of each individual ship (6" in the case of the King Eagle). The Skyhawk (Turn: 3) should be able to turn twice while cloaked, and 90 degree turns at that! :shock:

eldiablito said:
2) once the Romulans decloak, you get an additional 6" and free turn (beyond the normal 12" move)!
The 6" and 45 degree turn when you uncloak -is- your movement for the turn, again Pg 16 under the Cloak rule. Further question: Does the agile trait allow for a 90 degree turn after uncloaking?? If it does, Skyhawks are going to be popular ships.

eldiablito said:
3) Finall, a D7 got a lucky hit on a cloaked bird, but I don't see any modifiers to change the 2+ afterwards. FYI, this assumption is from playing B5. In that game, my minbari were always stealth 5+ after scouting and getting hit with energy mines.

So, did I miss anything?
Matt covered this one already
 
When you decloak, it doesn't say move six inches, I believe it says move six inches in any direction. Now my question is do you keep the same facing or does your facing change?
 
When you decloak, it doesn't say move six inches, I believe it says move six inches in any direction. Now my question is do you keep the same facing or does your facing change?

You get the 45 degree turn, but other than that there's no change to your facing - if you move 6" backwards, for example, the ship doesn't reverse course. The "free move" doesn't represent a move as such, rather the fact that the plasma-happy pointy-eared gits turn out not to be exactly where you thought they were...
 
locarno24 said:
When you decloak, it doesn't say move six inches, I believe it says move six inches in any direction. Now my question is do you keep the same facing or does your facing change?

You get the 45 degree turn, but other than that there's no change to your facing - if you move 6" backwards, for example, the ship doesn't reverse course. The "free move" doesn't represent a move as such, rather the fact that the plasma-happy pointy-eared gits turn out not to be exactly where you thought they were...

So this gets to the heart of my question.

If a warbird decloaks, it gets to be repositioned 6". It also gets a 45 degree turn. I'm cool with that. However, I'm still foggy about the ships movement. Does this ship get a move or not? When I read the weird situations (44) it still uses the phrase "free [movement]".
 
It does not get any additional movement over the 6" decloak move.

The wierd situations was written based on an earlier draft of the playtest rules.
 
No intentional movement I'd say.

If some outside force is causing it to move, such as the terrain effects of a black hole or nebula turbulence, I'd say that movement proceeds as normal. Though IIRC that movement is at the end of the turn, "compulsory movement" anyways.
 
Back
Top