Ready Actions

lochmoigh

Mongoose
Reading the rulebook it says you can't carry ready actions from turn to turn. IS that considered from your last action of the current turn to the first action of the next turn?
 
The only exception to the rule presently are those found on the cards.

These were ruling from MP and clarifications.

1. Set of of MGs. Once used the mg remains set up till itself moves.

2. Seem the SAS when hidden are considered readied when reveiled.

Those are the only two I know of.
 
That was why I asked. IF you have a sqd setup as a firebase you don't want to have to burn a action each turn to ready them.

Thanks
 
That's an artefact of the wording. You can't ready for your second action to fuel firing at extreme range or moving under cover next turn and similar actions. Readying to setup a machine gun is a single action that imparts a bonus until a move action is used.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
Readying to setup a machine gun is a single action that imparts a bonus until a move action is used.

It imparts a bonus until the gunner model itself moves, the squad it is part of can move as often as they like so long as the gunner doesn't move the bonus applies.

LBH
 
Yeah, what LBH is referring to is that the LMG counts as being setup until the model actually moves, rather than the squad being given a move action. You could give the unit a move action and move everyone but the machinegunner, and the LMG still counts as double shots and all that
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
Yeah, what LBH is referring to is that the LMG counts as being setup until the model actually moves, rather than the squad being given a move action. You could give the unit a move action and move everyone but the machinegunner, and the LMG still counts as double shots and all that

That's the way I read it.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
Yeah, what LBH is referring to is that the LMG counts as being setup until the model actually moves, rather than the squad being given a move action. You could give the unit a move action and move everyone but the machine gunner, and the LMG still counts as double shots and all that

While that makes perfect sense to me it also in my head goes against the "whole squad takes the same action" theory.

In most systems if you declare that a model is taking a movement type action then it is considered to have moved even of the model doesn't physically move on the board.

If the ruling truly is that the MG can stay setup until such time as you actually need to move the gunner, but the rest of the squad can take movement actions freely thats great.
 
That's the way I read it too.

So, not all the models have to participate in the action given.
Does this only count for LMG?

For instance, in a scenario you have to keep a fig readied to place a bomb or something, can the other figs from the same unit still shoot or move???

I hope they do.

S
 
No it doesn't human target. Read earlier in the topic. I gave only TWO times it works differently. Otherwise it NEVER carries over from one turn to the next. And in most cases you have to use it or lose it.
 
No, but if one figure has to take a ready action to set up/disarm the bomb, other figures can use the ready action to prepare for covered advance, set up an MG etc.

All figures are given the same action, even if they don't use it...

G.
 
All models are given the same ready action, yes, but they can NEVER use them for different things in that same ready action. That was covered the the rulemaster section awhile back.
 
MadPat said:
Lorcan Nagle said:
Yeah, what LBH is referring to is that the LMG counts as being setup until the model actually moves, rather than the squad being given a move action. You could give the unit a move action and move everyone but the machine gunner, and the LMG still counts as double shots and all that

While that makes perfect sense to me it also in my head goes against the "whole squad takes the same action" theory.

In most systems if you declare that a model is taking a movement type action then it is considered to have moved even of the model doesn't physically move on the board.

If the ruling truly is that the MG can stay setup until such time as you actually need to move the gunner, but the rest of the squad can take movement actions freely thats great.

the Exact wording on the card is that the MG remains setup until the gunner moves - not that he takes a move action. of course, this means that the gunner is tied in place, and limited to a 180 degree field of fire, and any time the squad moves, that's one less fire action form the gunner.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
the Exact wording on the card is that the MG remains setup until the gunner moves - not that he takes a move action. of course, this means that the gunner is tied in place, and limited to a 180 degree field of fire, and any time the squad moves, that's one less fire action form the gunner.

90 degree field of fire, check P.8 of the Advanced rulebok if you have it, but it uses the same 90 degree arc divisions as ACTA.

LBH
 
The Old Soldier said:
All models are given the same ready action, yes, but they can NEVER use them for different things in that same ready action. That was covered the the rulemaster section awhile back.

So whilst my SAW gunner sets up his bipod, the other guys just sit and watch? I don't think so. If I give a squad a ready action, they have a ready action, and they can use it for anything that a ready action is valid for. So, my SAW gunner sets up his bipod, and the other guys hunker down and scan the road ahead to prepare for a covered advance.

If that's outside the rules, then nuts to the rules.

G.
 
GJD said:
The Old Soldier said:
All models are given the same ready action, yes, but they can NEVER use them for different things in that same ready action. That was covered the the rulemaster section awhile back.

So whilst my SAW gunner sets up his bipod, the other guys just sit and watch? I don't think so. If I give a squad a ready action, they have a ready action, and they can use it for anything that a ready action is valid for. So, my SAW gunner sets up his bipod, and the other guys hunker down and scan the road ahead to prepare for a covered advance.

If that's outside the rules, then nuts to the rules.

G.

Hey, I'm just letting you know that was how it was ruled by MP in the rulemaster section of the site. You are free to play it anyway you want.

Have fun. :wink:
 
Back
Top