Question on Plasma Bolt

archon96

Mongoose
Ok I see the great usefulness of a Plasma Bolt. Just one question is it still seeking or must the player roll to see if he hits. And if so would a roll of 6 go through shields.
 
I seem to recall this being asked before, and the answer was that it is not seeking. It rolls a 4-6 to hit, subject to over half range penalties, and does penetrate shields on a roll of a "6".
 
Here you go:

http://forum.mongoosepublishing.com/viewtopic.php?f=103&t=49997&p=706024&hilit=plasma+bolt#p706024

And:


Iain McGhee Post subject: Re: Plasma Toprs/Bolts and energy bleed
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:29 pm

Plasma Torpedoes: You're correct, -1AD at range 8-12, -3AD at range 12-16.

Plasma Bolts: You don't halve the AD, you halve the hits caused. Your Plasma-S would do 4AD up to 5", 3AD from 5"-7.5" and 1AD from 7.5" to 10".

Remember that bolts are direct fire weapons, so you roll AD and it can bypass shields on a natural 6. You also get a -1 to hit over half range.
 
I believe you may be a bit off on the numbers billclo. I read it as:

A Plasma bolt attack AD is halved right off the bat and then E-Bleed is subtracted (-1AD at 1/2 range, -3AD at 3/4 range)

The halving of AD compensates for it's immunity to defensive phaser fire.

Therefore:
A Plasma S would only do 2AD up to 5" and then 1 AD from 5" to 7.5"

Plasma F bolt would do 1 AD out to 5" and nothing beyond that.
 
SneakyPete I think Billco has the right of it.

A plasma bolt has the same Attack Dice and traits as a normal plasma torpedo but the number of hits it deals is halved (rounding down) and is limited to a range of 10 inches.

So this says treat it just like a normal plasma only it has a range of 10 not 16. Also it says that the hits from the multihit not the Attack Die are halved. Also don't forget you make a to hit roll for each Attack Die just like it was a bank of Phasers or Drones.
 
OK, I see how I read it incorrectly, thanks for explaining it. All the more reason to keep using BCF Fed Battlecruisers.....
 
Rambler said:
SneakyPete I think Billco has the right of it.

A plasma bolt has the same Attack Dice and traits as a normal plasma torpedo but the number of hits it deals is halved (rounding down) and is limited to a range of 10 inches.

So this says treat it just like a normal plasma only it has a range of 10 not 16. Also it says that the hits from the multihit not the Attack Die are halved. Also don't forget you make a to hit roll for each Attack Die just like it was a bank of Phasers or Drones.

Is the plasma bolt one big bolt and you roll once to hit, and then roll multihits?

Example: A plasma-S is bolted at 4" range. You roll a 4-6 to hit (6 being a shield penetration), and then if you hit, you roll 4AD. After that, you halve the total number of damage points. Say the bolt hit, and you rolled 4 dice worth of damage (average is 14 pts). Halve that (equals 7 pts) and apply to the target.

Or is it you roll 4 dice, needing a 4-6 for each to hit, and roll a die of damage for each one that hits:
Example: A plasma-S is bolted at 4" range. Roll 4 dice, a 4-6 for each die hits. Say you got 2 hits, and so then roll 2 dice for damage points. Say you rolled 9 damage, halve it to 4.5 rounding down to 4.
 
I was thinking it was an all or nothing proposition, ie roll to hit with the entire bolt and then roll 4AD (for a Plasma-S), but since I have not yet used the Plasma bolt I wasn't sure.
 
Da Boss said:
Rambler said:
One big bolt only one die roll. Just like a Photon Torpedo.

I assume you mean one roll per AD of the weapon - just like a Photon?

For Plasma Bolts it is a single die roll per Plasma Weapon System not per AD. It is a all hit or none hit option. And yes if you roll a 6 somebody is not going to be happy.

One roll per AD would be a Plasma Shotgun which is not and is not likely to be in the game.

The Photon was a bad anology and I apologize for that.
 
Where does the one hit or miss come from in ACTA: SF?

As I read it on p17 you roll a dice per AD (as normal) hitting on a 4+ with 6's bypassing any shields. Each AD that hits roll D6/2 rnd down for hits.
 
Plasma Bolts
A bolt is created by detonating a plasma torpedo while it is still in the tube, forcing a shaft of energy out to strike the target. This energy is not a seeking weapon and cannot be targeted by defensive fire like a normal plasma torpedo.

A plasma bolt has the same Attack Dice and traits as a normal plasma torpedo but the number of hits it deals is halved (rounding down) and is limited to a range of 10 inches.


The way it works is a single bolt or beam per weapon system not multiple pulses.

Perhaps we can get Mathew in here to answer all the current seeking weapon questions?
 
If it was one attack dice it would be AD1 with appropriate multihit and noted as such in the rules - there is no mention that it acts any differently form any other direct fire weapon in this respect. The rule as stated says attack dice as per plasma torpedo and as its no longer auto hit - you need to roll for each one individually.

Its irrelvant in this case how the fluff works as AD can represent indivudal shots or chances to cause damage. Its the same as the mutiple AD of a normal Plasma Torp represent the heavy damage dealing potential of the weapon rather than multiple attacks.

The important bit you did not highlight was

"A plasma bolt has the same Attack Dice"
 
Ok I can buy that but you open up 2 new cans of worms then.

What keeps me from splitting up the AD to hit multiple targets?

At what point do I divide the hits scored by 2? Is it divde each Die or divide the sum by 2?
 
Can you split the fire

IMO - depends if its still counted as a Plasma Torpedo if it is then it can't as per rule on p18. The entry below seems to imply its still a plasma torpedo but I would agree that this is more questionable?

"A plasma bolt has the same Attack Dice and traits as a normal plasma torpedo"

Q2 I would divide the total inflicted on a ship by 2
 
Well in the source game, the plasma bolt is one big honking pulse of energy that is aimed at one target and can't hit multiple targets. Example: you bolt a Plasma-S torp, say range 5. Normally the torp if launched is worth 30 pts damage, but since you bolted it it hits for 15 pts. You can't split it up against multiple targets.

I know this doesn't directly impact Matt's ruling, but as for myself, now that I know you roll for each die it helps me out at least.
 
Back
Top