Question on Grapple

I'm not sure I'm reading the grapple rules correctly.

Step 1 is you have to make a successful touch attack against your target. You roll normal attack with your hand, and if you hit, you can continue?

Right?

Then....the target gets an Attack of Opportunity against you (if you're not using Improved Grapple).

Step 3 is you then make a grapple check, and if that is successful, you are considering grappling?



Isn't that double jeapordy with the attack rolls? It seems like a lot of rolling. Why the touch attack at the beginning? I would think we'd go straight to the opposed grapple check to see if the grapple is taking place.

Or, am I reading the rules wrong?
 
Refer to http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20050301a for the beginning of a long and yet informational discussion on grappling in d20 rules.
 
Prof.Dogg said:
Refer to http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20050301a for the beginning of a long and yet informational discussion on grappling in d20 rules.

Thanks, Prof. Really appreciate it. Clears things up. :D
 
Back
Top