Question about Planetary Assault Mission

Mister_Pink

Mongoose
What is the size of the deployment area for the defender in the Planetary Assault Mission ? I find the two ranges, 24" form th long side and 12" form the short side, a little bit confusing cause ther is nothing about the diameter of the deployment zone.
I guess the two ranges are for the center of the planet. Normal table is 48" wide so 24" would be exactly in the middle ;) and 12" form one short side.
But nothing states the deployment zone.
Hope you can help me there.
 
No answer till now :?

We decided to make the deploment zone for the defender as big as the gravity well of the planet. Worked fine for us.

But there were some issues where we have benn uncentain.

- whern you have a ship in the the atmosphere, where on the planet you place the ship? We decided to put them on the center. Maybe it irrelevant, but the next question is about that issue.
- Can you shoot at these crafts in the atmosphere from space? We decided to handel it the same way as attackin emplacment. Orbiting or holding position 1/2 distance of gravtiy well. But the It could be important where the craft ist placed on the planet in some cases.
- When a atmospheric craft makes an attack versus troops how many weapon arc are legeaö to fire. We didn´t find anything about this in the rulebook. In my case we had a Dilgar-Rohric in the atmosphere.
- The rules state you can´t land troops if you attacked emplacments. But what if you used Orbital Bombs to attack troops? Is it legal to land troops there after?

Sp you veterans outside there, let me here your answers.
 
Mister_Pink said:
We decided to make the deploment zone for the defender as big as the gravity well of the planet. Worked fine for us.

Sounds about right.

- whern you have a ship in the the atmosphere, where on the planet you place the ship? We decided to put them on the center. Maybe it irrelevant, but the next question is about that issue.

I would just leave it where it finished its move.

- Can you shoot at these crafts in the atmosphere from space?

I think they can. I think they only count as being on the planet when they have landed. However the rules are not clear on this.

- When a atmospheric craft makes an attack versus troops how many weapon arc are legeaö to fire. We didn´t find anything about this in the rulebook. In my case we had a Dilgar-Rohric in the atmosphere.

I think all weapons can be used. I've asked for clarification of this before and never got it.

I assume troops and emplacements are spread out, so a ship could be firing at targets on all sides.

- The rules state you can´t land troops if you attacked emplacments. But what if you used Orbital Bombs to attack troops? Is it legal to land troops there after?

I would say if you attacked any target on the planet (troops, emplacements, landed ships) you cannot land troops. You don't want to be launching shuttles at the same time as you are raining bombs from orbit.

Sp you veterans outside there, let me here your answers.

Hope that helps.
 
^^ So landet Ships can be attacked like Emplacements by the defender.
^^ Ships in the Atmosphere are may be attacked form lower Orbit, bud with only one Arc (like space combat). And may choosen free that Arc is used why the exakt position of the ship in the Atmosphere is not relevant? (Boesight?)
^^ Ships in lower Orbit may use all there Arc´s to attack Grundtargets or landed ships - also Boresight and Boresight Aft in one Turn?
 
G Quan said:
^^ So landet Ships can be attacked like Emplacements by the defender.

I don't see any rules that allow attacks against a landed ship. Maybe I missed something, but it looks like you will need a house rule to allow landed ships to be fired upon.

^^ Ships in the Atmosphere are may be attacked form lower Orbit, bud with only one Arc (like space combat). And may choosen free that Arc is used why the exakt position of the ship in the Atmosphere is not relevant? (Boesight?)

I also don't see any rules for ships in space to be able to attack ships in the atmosphere.

^^ Ships in lower Orbit may use all there Arc´s to attack Grundtargets or landed ships - also Boresight and Boresight Aft in one Turn?

Ships in lower Orbit may use only one Arc to attack ground targets.
 
Democratus said:
G Quan said:
^^ So landet Ships can be attacked like Emplacements by the defender.

I don't see any rules that allow attacks against a landed ship. Maybe I missed something, but it looks like you will need a house rule to allow landed ships to be fired upon.

There is no rule to prohibit it either. Applying the same restrictions as other planetary targets seems logical.
 
No, I doun´t look to find a houserule - I think logical.
There are to mutch ruleholes to fight these mission...

If an Enemy bomb my Emplacements away from lower Orbit, why can´t I dont attack the Enemy on the same way?

If an Enemy may attack targets one the Planets surface and attack targets in lower Orbit - why doun´t a ship that is among these points (in Atmosphere)?

If a ship in the Atmosphere suffer an crit that let it run adrift or lose the atmospheric Trait - goes it to crash down? How much damage suffer an crashed ship?

If I got ship´s wiht the atmospheric Trait to and let them follow the Enemy in the Atmosphere - how do this work? The exact position from both ships are not announced.

If there is no rule to attack a Enemy in Atmosphere or landed on the surface - the attacker try to open jumppoints close to the Planet go down with stormboats and have a autowin - His ships are save! Only with fighterflights you do not mislead Dilgar stormboats!

THX for the clear, apodictic statement about the Arcs are used in lower Orbit and Atmosphere!
"any one" in not indisputable to translate to german (irgend(einen) oder einen jeden?) We made it like your statement, but we are not confident to do it right.
 
And another question from me ;)

When does the Boresight Arc faces to a planet? Does ist just have to scratch the planet or do you take the center like you do with ships.
Not necessary important I´know but intressting anyway.
 
Mister_Pink said:
And another question from me ;)

When does the Boresight Arc faces to a planet? Does ist just have to scratch the planet or do you take the center like you do with ships.
Not necessary important I´know but intressting anyway.

I was never under the impression that you had to hit the center of a ship. So long as your boresight crosses any part of an enemy model, then it should be able to hit it. Thus larger ships are easier to hit than smaller ones with boresight.

Did I miss a rule somewhere? I'm new so it happens a lot.
 
normally you measure to and from the centre point of a ship (or its stem) or counter to see if you can hit the ship. its sort of discussed on page 3 of the rule book where it states the centre dot is the point where all measurements are made to/from (including movement).

The size of the model makes no difference - you are always trying to hit that centre (or other designated point on a ship)

in the BFG rulebook it talks about this point as the actual space the ship occupies and I'd assumed that this was the same in ACTA
 
Hmm although Da Boss states the rules correctly it isn't all that clear in the book!

Where the two main lines intersect at the centre, a single red dot is shown, marking the point of the ship where all measurements are taken (just like the base stem on a miniature).
... is the only relevant bit... if you take "measurements" to mean angles as well as distance then guess it covers it. But it isn't very specific.
 
Back
Top