Opposed rolls question..

danskmacabre

Mongoose
So character A has a skill of 85, character b has a skill of 75

They are making an opposed roll against each other:
Both roll exactly 71.
Who wins?
 
You can either force a reroll, as both results are tied, or you can rule that A is the winner because he has the higher of the two skills. Perhaps use the former option for those cases where the consequences of failure are more acute, and the latter option where its less critical for an out-right win.
 
Ah, so no official rule, I didn't think so, I had a good look.
This came up today, so I got them to reroll as a quick ruling.

But in future I will say the higher skill of the two wins as you suggest (seems to fit in with the rules better.
In the very rare occasion where they both roll the same AND have the same skill, then do a reroll.

Thanks :)
 
yes, but B has 75 which is closewr than 85, so should not B win this?

No, because A could have rolled anywhere between 72 and 85 and been guaranteed a success; B could only roll between 72 and 75. A is clearly the more competent of the two opponents, hence using the higher skill to decide a tie break; A technically has the edge.

Page 34 states that in the event of a tie a stalemate has arisen which should force a re-roll if circumstances warrant it. But, as with many things, we've left things deliberately flexible for GMs. There's nothing wrong with using the higher skill % as the decider, but as I mentioned before, you might only want to do that if the circumstances are non-critical for the outcome.
 
Khamulcalle said:
yes, but B has 75 which is closewr than 85, so should not B win this?

No , an opposed roll ia determined by both rolling on their respective skills.
The one who rolls HIGHER but WITHIN their skill % wins.

So for example if A has 85%, B has 75%
If A rolls 50 (within his 85% skill)
And B rolls 60 (within his 75% akill)
Then B wins, even though his Skill % is lower.

An opposed woll is based on the roll NOT the skill %.

The skill % is only important in that how high you can roll and still be within your skill.
 
Second para in the opposed skills section - although it relates to failure only, it is also the same as a tie: a stalemate.
 
Back
Top