now that i have the book i will ask...

deniper

Mongoose
first i love the book great simple and elegant rules for most situations.
really like the rules cleanup and all and the champain system rocks...
10000 pts!? :shock: i know not all at once(mostly) but eek...

1, I thought there was going to be an rule about what squadmembers could do while an LMG readyed for setup.
2, do you really have to setup an LMG each turn?

3, I had hoped there would be rules for immobilizeing tracked vehicles
oddly I never really think of it for wheeled vehicles but i think it is important for tracks (guess i watched "The Beast" too many times)

all of the above is what houserules are for, i know, but there are some in my area that think houserules break the game. and consider it uncooth to even mention it..

laters.
 
deniper said:
1, I thought there was going to be an rule about what squadmembers could do while an LMG readyed for setup.

Must have just been one of those forum rumours :(

2, do you really have to setup an LMG each turn?

Only if the MG gunner moves in a pervious action.

3, I had hoped there would be rules for immobilizeing tracked vehicles
oddly I never really think of it for wheeled vehicles but i think it is important for tracks (guess i watched "The Beast" too many times)

No such luck, I was sort of expecting a rule that says that any model that needs to fail more than 1 armour save will be reduced to action per turn if it is reduced to a single hit left.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
If a unit readies to setup LMGs, the other squad members can benefit from the extreme range fire aciton on the second action

I thought was a whole squad action.... would be happy to be wrong :)
 
The whole squad must take the ready action, IIRC nothing says the benefits of the ready action need to be the same for the whole squad.

LBH
 
lastbesthope said:
The whole squad must take the ready action, IIRC nothing says the benefits of the ready action need to be the same for the whole squad.

LBH

Sweet, although that should have really been pointed out in the rules, just saying something that "tricky" is likely to cause arguements.
 
Totally agree with you there, Cordas. Note that what LBH stated goes contrary with what the rule book states. Below is a quote from page 21 second column, second paragraph.

A unit may have the ability to perform Ready action for a variety of different tasks. However, each Ready actin may only ever be used for one task, no more.
 
The Old Soldier said:
Totally agree with you there, Cordas. Note that what LBH stated goes contrary with what the rule book states. Below is a quote from page 21 second column, second paragraph.

A unit may have the ability to perform Ready action for a variety of different tasks. However, each Ready actin may only ever be used for one task, no more.

Well the logical reading of that scuppers what LBH said *SIGH*, unless you want to logic chop and say the 2nd sentance is refering to models rather than units.... given the logic chops required to get "the correct" reading of certain other rules LBH could be correct.
 
? I keep reading the sentence and it say there are a variety of different reactions a unit could use, but the unit may only use one for each reaction.

So,k how is it a some models of a unit use the same reaction for two different task? Not saying LBH is wrong, he got his information from Matt. But, that is not how the rule book words it. Hence the reason for me agreeing with you that it should have been clarified.
 
A unit may have the ability to perform Ready action for a variety of different tasks. However, each Ready action may only ever be used for one task, no more.

Sentance 1.

A unit may take a ready action for different reasons.

Sentance 2.
Each ready action can only be used to perform 1 task.

Nowhere in the 2nd sentance quoted does it state WHO performs the task, and WHO the 1 task limit is applied to. The logic chopping I mentioned comes into play when you consider the WHO aspect, is it refering to the unit as a whole or to individual models in the unit?

A: If it refers to the unit then the unit can only gain 1 benefit from readying, whether that be the MG gunner readying his MG whislt his mates just stand there like dummies twiddling their thumbs, or the unit takes careful aim to allow them to shoot over greater distances.

B: If it refers to individual models (which makes more common sense, but is not written in the rules) then whilst the MG gunner sets up his MG for more fire power, the other guys in the unit also take careful aim to give them greater range. No model has performed more than 1 task, the MG does not gain the advantage of greater range, and the rifle men can't double their fire power or gain any other readied benefit than the greater range.

Doing as Matt says and reading the rules as written I feel myself drawn A; although I would prefer B as it makes more "common sense" and would stop trained soldiers twiddling their thumbs as they watch their mate set up his MG. That said given the reading of other rules and "the correct" reading of them option B is viable.
 
The Old Soldier said:
Totally agree with you there, Cordas. Note that what LBH stated goes contrary with what the rule book states. Below is a quote from page 21 second column, second paragraph.

A unit may have the ability to perform Ready action for a variety of different tasks. However, each Ready actin may only ever be used for one task, no more.

I bow to TOS on this one, I still haven't sat down and read the book properly yet.

LBH
 
The way I see it is that the first action is still ready, and the second would hypothetically be fire - at no point is the squad splitting their actions. While the individual ready actions are fuelling different purposes, it's stil just a ready action for the whole squad.
 
Back
Top