New to Traveller, New DM

metlk

Banded Mongoose
I've tried searching the forum, but I couldn't think of a good way to word it to get any useful results. I'm fairly new to Traveller. We've run the Last Train out of RakenGal story, and my son is an experienced DM with D&D and Pathfinder, but he is in college and of course doesn't have time to play over the internet with dear old dad (LOL) so we only have a few hours every few months to play. I enjoy it enough that I want to learn how to play solo, and also be able to Ref when he is here so he can just enjoy playing. I found the Campaign Guide pdf, which has some useful information in it about automatic campaigns, but I'm hung up on some pretty basics issues and completely lost. Making rolls to see what events happen is easy enough, but it's the details holding me up.

For example, I finished character creation and have a pinnace. I ran a couple of trade runs to another in-system planet (thankfully world creation and trading seems pretty straightforward.) But I really need a breakdown of what rolls/ checks I should be making along the way. For example:

Once I found a patron and have a mission, what is the proper steps to take to leave the planet? Just saying "I leave the planet" to myself seems a bit... uneventful? Are there piloting checks or other types of rolls I should be doing? What about finding equipment? I know the TL affects what can be purchased to an extent, but is there a system like Pathfinder where you make a roll to determine if you even find a shop or what's actually for sale?