My First Roleplaying Experience

What you are about to read really is my recollection of my first time.

How about yours?

Back when I was a sophomore in high school, I was introduced to this new game (new to me) called D&D. It was just me and the DM. I went over to his house on a Saturday. Out in the back yard, he had all these books and graph paper set up on a picnic table.

The adventure? Keep on the Borderlands/Caves of Chaos. One player and one DM.

That day started a love affair with what has become my favorite hobby, and it has been with me the rest of my life.

The first thing we did was roll up a character. I created a fighter. Then, he let me roll for beginning wealth for this 1st level character. I rolled a few coins then spent most of it equipping the dude.

Then, we just started playing.

I had cut my teeth as a fighter in the Duke's legions. My service over, I was a free man, and I had just reached the gates of Threshold.

With no more background than that, my DM just looked at me and said, "It's getting late. The sun is disappearing behind the horizon. The city's gates are closed at dusk. If you don't get in, you'll have to make due outside the city until morning. You're standing in front of the huge, wooden gates. What do you want to do?"

And, that's how it all started.

I approached the gate, and this led to my first roleplaying encounter with me trying to convince the guard that he should allow an armed mercenary type into the city right at dusk.

That was fun. I was hooked.

The GM just played off of what I did. "You cross into the city. It is noticably dark now. You see young boy, about 13 or 14 years old, with a donkey and wagon. He seems to be lighting some oil lights in the city. The city is shutting down for the evening. What do you want to do?"

I walked over to the boy and asked him where I could stay, get a bite to eat, and freshen up. He directed me to the inn.