Leathal Zone question

Snicky

Mongoose
never mind, found another thread that confirms it: Yes, all models get hit with the damage dice.


My question arose from my first game, played yesterday, which was enjoyed by all. The rules make for a quick game with lots of tactics. More terrain is better!

The question: My infantry squad was being stalked by a Panther, which takes a shot at them with it's main gun that has the train Lethal/1".
The only reference I was able to find to the Lethal/X trait was in the artillery section (page 21), which says to roll the damage dice against each model in the zone. We actually used the old Bevo rule ( D6 against all other models in the zone ) not knowing better, but I suspect the correct method to make use of the Lethal/X train is the one described in the artillery section ( pg 21) . Is the artillery rule the right way to implement the Lethal/X trait?

Thanks in advance for your reply

( by the way, the lethal trait referees the reader to pg 18 which has no mention of it there, only fire zones.)
 
I've not seen the new rules yet, but in SST, the Lethal zone weapons worked a bit differently: You had the option of firing direct or indirect.

If you fired direct you created a "6 firezone and rolled a number of dice equal to the weapon's normal damage*the radius of the FZ (so a 2xD6, FZ/3" firecracker missile rolled 6xD6 direct), and allocated as per normal weapons.

If you fired indirect you rolled for scatter and all targets under the radius of the Lethal Zone got attacked by the basic damage of the weapon (so if an indirectly fired firecracker landed in such a way as to catch four warrior bugs, each of them would get 2xD6 rolled against them)

Without seeing the new rules I can't say for sure, but I assume they'll be at least similar to that.
 
To not clarify anything, the rule book says, under TRAITS:

Lethal Zone/X This weapon has a large blast effect, affecting multiple models with each shot. See page 18 for more details.

Of course Page 18 shows nothing about Lethal Zone at all. However, as Snicky indicated, page 21 mentions Lethal Zone (without defining it). In this example, which is written for artiliery, it says

...roll the damage weapon's Damage Dice against every model either fully or partially within the weapon's Lethal Zone.

So if I were to guess what this means, I would agree with Lorcan Nagle.

However, it is frustrating to have to guess at what special traits actually mean. :-(
 
I'll hopefully have WaW in a week or so so I can go through it and see if there's anything tucked away there, but it's of specific interest to me as some tank guns in Modern Combat have Lethal Zones that do mean a multiplier to their dice rolls for direct fire if the rules remain the same... A challenger II rolling 2xD10+5 for direct fire scares me, and I'll be the one fielding them!
 
So, to confirm 100%, I decide to make a shoot action with a tank that has a main gun with D10+4, Lethal zone 1", and two machine guns which roll 3D6. I fire all three weapons into the same firezone. I roll the 6D6 for the machine guns and allocate as normal, and additionally every model within 1" of the fire zone's centre takes D10+4?

Can an artillery weapon choose to fire direct, or is it scatter only?
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
So, to confirm 100%, I decide to make a shoot action with a tank that has a main gun with D10+4, Lethal zone 1", and two machine guns which roll 3D6. I fire all three weapons into the same firezone. I roll the 6D6 for the machine guns and allocate as normal, and additionally every model within 1" of the fire zone's centre takes D10+4?

Can an artillery weapon choose to fire direct, or is it scatter only?

First off, no tank has multifire/3, so you can fire two weapons at most. After that point, all I can say is that in other incarnations of these rules, it's the model allocated the die that acts as the center of the blast, not the center of the FZ. But this seems to have been left out of the WaW book, so I don't know.

Artillery: The weapon may be fired as artillery. (emphasis mine)

So yes, they can choose to fire direct.
 
Rabidchild said:
Lorcan Nagle said:
So, to confirm 100%, I decide to make a shoot action with a tank that has a main gun with D10+4, Lethal zone 1", and two machine guns which roll 3D6. I fire all three weapons into the same firezone. I roll the 6D6 for the machine guns and allocate as normal, and additionally every model within 1" of the fire zone's centre takes D10+4?

Can an artillery weapon choose to fire direct, or is it scatter only?

First off, no tank has multifire/3, so you can fire two weapons at most.

It was just a hypothetical, but good point nonetheless :D

After that point, all I can say is that in other incarnations of these rules, it's the model allocated the die that acts as the center of the blast, not the center of the FZ. But this seems to have been left out of the WaW book, so I don't know.

Yeah, I didn't think that through, it stands to reason
 
Back
Top