jah'dur vindictive

meglos

Mongoose
Hi everyone,im hoping to use jah'dur soon and i just wanted to be sure im using the vindictive rule correctly.

It says if a dilgar ship cripples an enemy ship,it it may immediately fire one weapon system again at it,so have i got this right i can cripple a ship with one weapon system and then use another weapon system to fire on it again ,or does it have to be the same weapon that caused the cripple ?

And does it work on weapons that have split fire ,say mishakur splits its 20 heavy bolter shots 10 on a nova 10 on an orestes,it cripples the nova i will fire the bolters again at the nova,do i roll the 10 ad like before or can i fire the full 20 at it ?
im trying to get my head around the ruling as if im allowed to fire the full 20 at the nova it could get silly as take the above ships again still 10 shots on each,but i cripple both i could fire an extra 20 shots at each ship again form the same weapon.

sorry to go on ,can somebody help me out?
 
The wording says "again", so I'd assume it may only re-fire a weapon that has already fired on that target previously. So whilst it does not have to be the same weapon that caused the cripple, it must be a weapon that has already fired on that target this turn.

For example if your Mishakur fires its Heavy Bolters, and then its Heavy Pulsars cripple the ship, you can choose either one of them to re-fire. But if your Heavy Pulsars are the first weapon you fire and they do the crippling, you may re-fire them but you may not choose to fire your Heavy Pulsars or Anti-Ship Missiles twice instead.

As for splitting fire I'd say you can only re-fire the AD's that were originally used... for example if your Mishakur fires 10AD of Heavy Bolters and then all 8 AD of Heavy Pulsars which cripple the target, you can choose to either re-fire 10AD of Heavy Bolters or 8AD of Heavy Pulsars. So if you split fire, 10 AD at 2 targets and cripple them both, you can only re-fire 10 AD at each (or any previously-fired weapons instead) ;)
 
NP, the wording really isn't very clear on what would happen in the case of split AD. But my interpretation seems fair to me, and hopefully matches what was intended when it was created.
 
Back
Top