Hyperplasma Cutter

SylvrDragon

Mongoose
I was curious about the hyperplasma cutter on the Triumviron (Ancient). The hyperplasma cutter states that it gains an additional 2 AD for each hyperplasma cutter that attacks the same target. Is this damage added as an additional attack that follows the first attacks, or is it added onto one of the beams? Also, does each weapon gain an additional 2 AD or is it a net gain of 2 AD per? And lastly, is the increase +2 AD per additional weapon or is it total, meaning that do you add the bonus 3 times if all 3 are attacking the same target?
 
basically, (think im right here)
if for example you attacked a target with all 3 you would have six dice first go, then 8 then 10, with all the benefits of each
 
darknight said:
basically, (think im right here)
if for example you attacked a target with all 3 you would have six dice first go, then 8 then 10, with all the benefits of each

Seems logical and that was my first guess to be honest. It's just not worded clearly at all, so I wanted to get some additional opinions.
 
It was clarified in the 1e FAQ that you get 2AD extra for each extra one that attacks the same target. So if one attacks, you get 6. If two attack, you get 6+6+2. If all three attack you get 6+6+2+6+2 = 22. If you split the attack you don't get the bonus ADs. No reason to assume the 1e FAQ is not valid, since the wording has not changed.

Hmm, I wonder how it interacts with GEG or Adaptive Armour... does firing all 3 count as one weapon system, or would you have one weapon system of 6AD, and 2 more of 8AD each?
 
Burger said:
Hmm, I wonder how it interacts with GEG or Adaptive Armour... does firing all 3 count as one weapon system, or would you have one weapon system of 6AD, and 2 more of 8AD each?

I'd guess, by the wording, that they'd either all be treated as one, since it does say that it adds to them as a whole which could suggest that they are treated as one. Or, and here goes what would be most likely in my opinion, you'd roll 6 AD, then you'd roll 8 AD separately two more times.

Greg Smith said:
I would think they are three weapons, it does say 'for each Hyperplasma Cutter...' Each implies thay are separate.

The question isn't entirely as to if they are separate systems, as it is to how the extra dice are treated. Are the extra dice added to subsequent beams or are they separate; though I do see how they could be interpreted as treated all as a single weapon, the fact that it suggests adding dice to them as a total could be perceived as such.
 
Actually thinking about it I'd treat it all as one weapon system. That's the whole idea isn't it? The three beams combine into one, and the total is greater than the sum of its parts. So although the rules as written don't specify, thats how I'd do it.
 
Back
Top