The regular 1 pivot per movement turn is bad enough for lumbering. IMHO it's far too strict to keep ships from using gravity wells (good tactical maneuvering) ....
It's not poorly worded, but in my not-so-humble opinion, it doesn't fit the Star Trek setting very well. It wouldn't be so bad if that had used SFB turn-mode "F" instead of "E" as the cut-off.
But using a gravity well, and I quote the rulebook, "for all purposes, it will count as having just moved forward in a straight line". It would make no sense whatsoever if a Lumbering ship could not orbit a planet.
But using a gravity well, and I quote the rulebook, "for all purposes, it will count as having just moved forward in a straight line". It would make no sense whatsoever if a Lumbering ship could not orbit a planet.
It's pretty much undenyable that you're "turning" within a gravity well. Perhaps a gravity well might be able to help a lumbering ship get an early turn before satisfying their turn rate...but that's about it.
For what it's worth, I hope you're right and they FAQ it. At this point that's what you need in order to get a second turn out of a lumbering ship....an FAQ.
I'll have to side with Sgt-G. In the rules say it counts as moving in a "straight line", so Lumbering shouldn't counts against it because its considered "straight" forward movement.
Seems to me that you guys are ignoring that little bit.
Of course the gravity well "for all purposes" sort of makes these rules bounce off one another. So I see where you guys are coming from. However, I don't think there is a definitive answer here. Not with the rules as they stand.
I'd like to hear what Matt says about this.
In Battlefleet Gothic, I dominated the tournaments at Adepticon for 3 years running with Orcs, one of the slowest and underratted fleets in the game. I did it by utilising gravity wells and using terrain smartly.
I can easily see doing the same thing with Gorn in ACTA: Starfleet.
That wording for Gravity wells has been around since B5:ACTA, so it most likely was just overlooked when Lumbering was being written. I still feel they don't quite contradict themselves, the rules say a gravity sling doesn't count as a turn.
We've not been playing with celestial phenomena yet. Trying to get a handle on the basic/advanced rules for ships and combat before adding terrain. I just read the rules and saw that you actually move in an arc...not a straight line and indeed not turning.
Hmmm, looks like the Gorn just got more maneuverable.
That wording for Gravity wells has been around since B5:ACTA, so it most likely was just overlooked when Lumbering was being written. I still feel they don't quite contradict themselves, the rules say a gravity sling doesn't count as a turn.
This is correct. Orbiting a planet says _nothing_ about making a turn - quite the opposite, it counts as moving in a straight line. That phrasing was _very_ intentional.
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.