First game, now questions

darklord4

Mongoose
After putting together enough miniatures(haven't bought any real ones, modeler first, gamer second :P) I got a small 250 point game in today. I have a few questions that came up in play that weren't covered in the basic rules and was wondering if they were covered or clarified in the advanced rules. No need to post rules here, just let me know if they have been addressed in the advanced rulebook or were hidden in the basic rules.

1. Can a squad be suppressed by reaction fire?

2. Say a squad loses its command model and is suppressed in the same shoot action (bad luck :P), they still have to have 2 sequential actions to get back in command, thus losing a turn and a half correct? i.e. the following turn, they get only 1 action as they are suppressed, so cannot take a ready action to "regroup".

3. Rules about grenades/rockets exploding around corners? I sneakily kept an MEA squad just out of sight around the corner of a building. My opponent could have hit several militants with an M203 grenade going off at an in-LOS Fire zone mark. The M203 wording says you get bonus dice on all models 1" away from the model receiving the damage die from the grenade, but since there were no models in LOS, no model could receive the damage die and thus no bonus dice. Some sort of way to explode exploding weapons would be neat. Especially for the bigger weapons like tank guns and rocket launchers.

I couldn't find my camera during the game, so no battle-report pics :(. Cool moments included seeing a fire team stacked up behind a building waiting for the opportune moment to make their move. Fire-zone sniping sergeants and corporals that lagged behind their fire teams (not sure if this was intended to be viable by the rules or just cheesy). After doing a move action and realizing that they didn't get far enough to shoot up some MEA, USMC fire team taking advantage of their 12" command by scattering as far as they could apart with another move action. Unfortunately, they didn't get far enough apart, except for the corporal...
 
1. Yes

2. Suppression and Loss of Command do not stack.

3. If you can't gain LOS to a model in the enemy unit, you can't fire on the unit.

Have fun!
 
The Old Soldier said:
2. Suppression and Loss of Command do not stack.

Well they stack to a maximum of 2 lost actions, if you lose 1 action from supression then get put out of Command you will ose 2 actions, or maybe I'm picking at imaginary nits while I trey to find a solution to the tournament scenario problem. If so, sorry.

LBH
 
For number 3, Everything withing 1" of the model that was assigned the 203's dice will take 1 dice as well whether in LOS or not.

From the card:
M203 Grenade Launcher: One Rifleman in each team has an underslung grenade launcher attached to his M16A4. This weapon causes a –1 penalty to Armour rolls and will roll extra Damage Dice (but only D6 with no penalty to Armour rolls) against every model within 1” of the centre of the model its first Damage Dice is allocated to - these extra models need not be in Line of Sight. It may only be fired once per turn, and never as a reaction.
 
You still have to have LOS to even fire. So the answer I gave is valid.

LBH, yes that was a nitpic, :lol: since the maximum you can lose IS two actions. So, really, they do not stack. I wouldn't worry too much over it. Sounds like MP is clueless. MY motto is if you can't control it, forgetaboutit. 8) One of big reasons I hate tourneys is stupid stuff like what you mentioned. I'll be rootin for you! :wink:
 
Man I really need to not reply to things until I have been awake for at least an hour. I totally misses that he was firing into an open FZ.
 
Another question that we were wondering about is bonus dice from explosions while shooting into cover. Do the bonus dice also hit against the target stat modified by cover. We had some MEA militants launch a rocket into a building full of marines. The bonus die for the RPG-29 is only 1D6-1, so cannot damage marines with cover. Do we still add the cover for a rocket that makes it into the building?
 
Yes, you still count the cover. So the Rockets are not effective against the marines in cover. Unless the card is changed as "written" the marines in the splash are safe in cover.
 
I would agree with TOS here, it makes sense if you look at what benefit cover actually gives, its not just that its harder to draw a bead (which splash damage doesn't do anyway) but it also provides mass that soaks up shrapnel and the such, allowing soldiers to shelter from the damage.
 
A model suffering from 'splash damage' benefits from cover if it is in cover with respect to the point of impact of the weapon causing the splash.

So if you're firing on a squad within a building, then yes, the poor sod who caught the grenade's mates will get the benefit of cover.

If however, it's 2 guys behind a wall, the first guy gets Cover from the attack, but the second guy standing right next to him gets no Cover bonus as the grenade impacted on the same side of the wall as he is.

LBH
 
Back
Top