Fighters and Stealth

SylvrDragon

Mongoose
If fighter hits a ship protected by stealth with an attack does it lower the stealth score if another ships targets it later in the same turn?
 
no, as fighters are now counted as ships - so only one "ship" firing at a stealthed ship lowers its stealth - however as the bonus will disapear if the firing ship is destroyed, having several fighters (or ships) firing at one target can still be beneficial. :)
 
A fighter will lower stealth. If the fighter has lowered stealth, a ship making a later attack will get the benefit of that stealth reduction, but the ship's attack will not reduce stealth further.

Fighters are great for lowering stealth, because in base contact, they don't need to roll stealth themselves. Of course you generally have to sacrifice a few to achieve it..
 
If you manage to get a ship into base contact with another with stealth. Does the other ship not have to roll for stealth.
 
Only in the section of the rulebook about fighters does it mention that fighter flights which are in base contact with a stealth target can ignore that stealth. Everything else has to roll to break stealth, but if your ship is in base contact with the enemy, the stealth score is reduced by 1 because your ship is within 8" (unless the other player is using 9" diameter bases :)).

From the book:
An additional -1 penalty is applied if any other ship in the same fleet has successfully attacked the target in the same turn and is still on the table and not Stricken or Running Adrift.
Define "successfully attacked" - does an attack from a ship which beat the target's stealth (or a fighter which ignored it) but completely failed to hit with a single die count as a successful attack?
 
Matt has clarified this on Rulesmasters... somewhere...
An attack basically means rolling attack dice, not necessarily causing damage. So yes if you beat stealth but totally miss, it still counts. If you beat stealth, get 4 hits but they are all dodged or intercepted then it still counts. If you beat stealth, get 3 hits but they are all bulkheads, it also counts. It is the rolling of attack dice that grants the bonus. So I guess Comms Disrupters can grant the bonus too :lol:
 
Yes it does count,
the attack is considered successful if you beat the stealth, no matter the damges done.

PS : Once again Burger was faster than me :D
 
So Am i right in thinking then that Ships which move into base contact with a ship with stealth still have to roll to beat stealth???

I played a game last week ISA versus Minbari, i moved 2 of my ISA ships into base contact with a minbari tigara and i thought (so did my opponent ) that the stealth was negated and i therefore didnt roll for stealth.

so have i been playing this incorrectly???
 
Well as a house rule for my games with my regular opponent the one involved in the game mentioned above we use the rule if as ship moves base to base it negates stealth, as we are sensible with the base sizes of our ships.
 
Back
Top